We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful romantic getaway”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We love individuality and intimacy over pomp and grandeur, so tend to favour small boutique hotels and higher end B&Bs. With this in mind, I chose Apsley House for a short break during which to pop the question.

It was a wonderful stay. The staff are attentive, rooms beautiful- ours was the 'Romantic' room with four-poster bed, slipper bath and views over Bath and the surrounding countryside- and the breakfast was special. It was the attention to detail which really shone though, with the interior decor, the luxury bathroom with slipper bath, high-end toiletries and robes, the thoughtful layout of seating in the garden and the cosy bar and lounge area. The service was second to none, with no request too much trouble.

Sure you're a little out of the town, but with taxis in costing only £6 and parking in Bath expensive, who cares? I would not hesitate to return.

Menu Gordon was a pretty special place too...

(She said yes)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently stayed at Apsley House during our trip to Bath. We stayed in the lower basement room with a lovely four poster bed and private stairs that lead onto the lawn. The room was lovely and very comfortable...until we realized we were directly under the breakfast room early the next morning. We were still adjusting to the time change when we heard every foot fall above our heads starting around 6am. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. The bar unfortunately closed at 10pm and there is not any air conditioning (it was quite warm when we visited). But, overall a fantastic stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rossica221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

An imposing Georgian country house with all the features you'd expect of it and perfectly decorated to period.
Our room was the Mornington, the garden basement room directly below the restaurant, previously the house kitchen.
On entering you are wowed with the rich shades of terracotta and burgundy of the Dupion silk curtains, frills and velvet cushions that adorn the mahogany four poster bed . Passing the matching antique furniture, including Chaise Longue, a small white stair leads out onto the formal lawns via the French doors. Either side of the doors are two deep shuttered windows, one of which is curtained with a shadowy green mature vine, laden with grapes.
The sleep experience was wonderful with the feather matress topper and soft pure white bed linen giving a feeling of sleeping in a large marshmallow. If that's not enough luxury, in our own personal stone-tiled mini Roman bathroom, the roll top slipper tub invites you to join it for a bubble bath if the rain shower doesn't satisfy.

Breakfast...
Great choice of everything breakfast-like, beautifully prepared and served in the dining room, complete with chandeliers, starched white table linen, best silver and all against a backdrop of sumptuosly draped picture windows over-looking the garden and rolling hills.

The service and hospitality is a credit to the discreet staff who subtly make the experience even better.
Well well worth a stay for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swansong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my wife away for a couple of nights, one of which was staying at Apsley House Hotel. This is one of the best small hotels I have ever stayed in. The service was fantastic and the rooms of high quality - we were made to feel special and nothing was too much trouble. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occaisons for work purposes and I cannot fault it at all!

I have stayed in almost every room, and they are all beautifully decorated, comfortable, spacious and well appointed - excellent nights sleep! I love the big roll top baths and definetely would suggest trying to book a room with one of these - so relaxing.

The breakfast is outstanding and the choice fantastic for such a small and private hotel.

What really sets this place apart is the service - every member of staff greeted me like I was coming home, which made my stay so welcoming and special.

I cannot reccomend Apsley House highly enough - if you are planning a visit to Bath then this is the place to stay!!

Katie

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katiestirling20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I used Tripadvisor to find the best hotel in Bath for my girlfriend's 40th birthday. We had a friendly, warm reception and shown to our lovely Romantic suite; the photos did not even do it justice. My girlfriend was so enthralled by the room; there was also a lovely birthday gift left on the dresser from the staff.

The breakfast was superb and even managed to influence the daily special of Eggs Benedict. I also liked the idea of an honesty bar (yes, I was honest!). We were treated to a very personable experience, as though we were the only people in the hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff and there were lovely little touches to set it apart from the run-of-the-mill chain hotels.

We can highly recommend Apsley House Hotel for a remarkable and wonderful experience. Congratulations to the team there who are the priceless jewels of a crown of a hotel in Bath.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July , the hotel is a very old building but very nice ,we stayed in the romantic room for one night which was as it is described very nice size and really cosy ,we had to move to another room as we could only book it for one night , the other room was smaller and a bit less cosy but still nice . The staff where really friendly and could not do enough for us , the breakfast was very nice and all freshly cooked to order. Nice walk in to bath , would defiantly return again .

Room Tip: Book the romantic room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £138 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing