We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apsley House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
MGallery
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$497
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$121
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,493)
Filter reviews
1,493 results
Traveller rating
1,307
162
14
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
162
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barwellington roomromantic roombeau roomchampagne roomwellesley roomhonor barfour poster bedgarden suiteslipper bathcoach housedaily specialsmolton brown toiletriesvictoria parkcity centreroll top baththe lower ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,493 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a short stay to revisit Bath. The reception we received when we arrived was brilliant. Information was provided to ensure we knew how to find our way around Bath when we went out. Although a little way out of the centre this should not be a put off as access via bus or park and ride is very easy if you do not want to take the car. The room was perfect although we did not have one with a view. Breakfast offered a great choice with a different special each morning, well cooked and efficient and unobtrusive service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We love individuality and intimacy over pomp and grandeur, so tend to favour small boutique hotels and higher end B&Bs. With this in mind, I chose Apsley House for a short break during which to pop the question.

It was a wonderful stay. The staff are attentive, rooms beautiful- ours was the 'Romantic' room with four-poster bed, slipper bath and views over Bath and the surrounding countryside- and the breakfast was special. It was the attention to detail which really shone though, with the interior decor, the luxury bathroom with slipper bath, high-end toiletries and robes, the thoughtful layout of seating in the garden and the cosy bar and lounge area. The service was second to none, with no request too much trouble.

Sure you're a little out of the town, but with taxis in costing only £6 and parking in Bath expensive, who cares? I would not hesitate to return.

Menu Gordon was a pretty special place too...

(She said yes)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently stayed at Apsley House during our trip to Bath. We stayed in the lower basement room with a lovely four poster bed and private stairs that lead onto the lawn. The room was lovely and very comfortable...until we realized we were directly under the breakfast room early the next morning. We were still adjusting to the time change when we heard every foot fall above our heads starting around 6am. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. The bar unfortunately closed at 10pm and there is not any air conditioning (it was quite warm when we visited). But, overall a fantastic stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rossica221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

An imposing Georgian country house with all the features you'd expect of it and perfectly decorated to period.
Our room was the Mornington, the garden basement room directly below the restaurant, previously the house kitchen.
On entering you are wowed with the rich shades of terracotta and burgundy of the Dupion silk curtains, frills and velvet cushions that adorn the mahogany four poster bed . Passing the matching antique furniture, including Chaise Longue, a small white stair leads out onto the formal lawns via the French doors. Either side of the doors are two deep shuttered windows, one of which is curtained with a shadowy green mature vine, laden with grapes.
The sleep experience was wonderful with the feather matress topper and soft pure white bed linen giving a feeling of sleeping in a large marshmallow. If that's not enough luxury, in our own personal stone-tiled mini Roman bathroom, the roll top slipper tub invites you to join it for a bubble bath if the rain shower doesn't satisfy.

Breakfast...
Great choice of everything breakfast-like, beautifully prepared and served in the dining room, complete with chandeliers, starched white table linen, best silver and all against a backdrop of sumptuosly draped picture windows over-looking the garden and rolling hills.

The service and hospitality is a credit to the discreet staff who subtly make the experience even better.
Well well worth a stay for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my wife away for a couple of nights, one of which was staying at Apsley House Hotel. This is one of the best small hotels I have ever stayed in. The service was fantastic and the rooms of high quality - we were made to feel special and nothing was too much trouble. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews