We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2009

From enquiring about availability at Apsley House I was happy to receive a speedy, friendly response. Claire was so helpful and informative and I felt their main aim was to please!

We stayed for 2 nights in the "Romantic" room, which was super. The bed was extremely comfortable and the furnishings were divine. The shower was amazing and I love Molton Brown!

Breakfast was a treat and the honesty bar was a lovely touch.

All in all we had a marvellous stay, thank you very much!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Apsley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2009

If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable small hotel near the centre of Bath then Apsley House is for you. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, the first 2 nights in the Wellington Room and the last night in the self contained coach house. The breakfasts were excellent and cooked to order. The view from the back of the house was stunning and to top it all whilst we were there we watched hot air balloons floating by. The easy walk into the centre of Bath is about 30 minutes although taxis are readily available and a bus stop is situated outside the hotel.

Although there is no evening meal facilities at this hotel there is a good choice in Bath, our favourite being Hudsons Steakhouse which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50 & Fab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

FANTASTIC hotel. The hosts make you feel like you're part of the family. Absolutely SUPERB service. My wife and I stayed six nights in May; my parents were there at the same time in a different room. We absolutely loved it. If you don't mind stairs, ask for the top floor room in the back of the hotel it's either room 6 or 7, I can't remember)--you'll have a superb view of the hills and part of the city. Opt for a room facing the back of the hotel for the best view. I suspect the Wellington Room (one floor below) would share that same excellent view.

My parents stayed in the fantastic room on the main floor, because they didn't want to climb any stairs, and this room is great as well, although it doesn't afford the view that a higher floor does.

The breakfasts are outstanding as well. You're a short cab or bus ride into the city. We rented a car for several day-trip run outs, and there was ample parking at the hotel every night. It serves as an excellent base for an excursion to the Cotswolds, Stonehenge, Avebury, etc.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bath. It's absolutely the best hotel my wife and I have ever visited. Bravo, Apsley House!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuitarKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Arrived early, tea was provided to us in the beautiful garden while our room was made ready.
The room / bathroom spotless - opening onto the garden - my wife was overjoyed (you need to visit this hotel to understand why). No more need to be said.
Both the owners and the management team were warm and friendly.
Visited Bath many times and wish we had found this hotel before.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We just enjoyed a two night stay at Apsley House Hotel and I honestly cannot say enough good things about it. The hotel is beautiful with fantastic views at the back, lovely rooms, very clean, the breakfast is great and the managers were wonderful. They just couldn't do enough for us, including recommending a great golf course ( The Park - Cromwell Course), recommending and booking a restaurant, organising taxis etc. We felt so well looked after, they are an absolute credit to this hotel and I very much look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodyandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

I have stayed in a lot of five star hotels on business. This is the best. Attention to detail for comfort of guests is unmatched. Beautifully run, lovely rooms, great service. We were beyond comfortable. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Title says it all really but we stayed in the very large Wellington room (bit of a treat) and had a lovely time. Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful and the breakfast was very nice indeed, yum.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_Pied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £148 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing