We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apsley House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$108
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$628
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
1,310
162
14
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
162
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barwellington roomromantic roombeau roomchampagne roomwellesley roomhonor barfour poster bedgarden suiteslipper bathcoach housedaily specialsmolton brown toiletriesvictoria parkcity centreroll top baththe lower ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,334 - 1,339 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Apsley House Hotel and it is evident as soon as you enter why it has received such outstanding reviews. In fact the reviews received and the Stars it has been awarded do not adequately convey the spectacular accomodation, attentive and charming staff and the overall ambience that is Apsley House Hotel.
The outstanding service began even before our visit with furtive calls to arrange suprise gifts for my partner - nothing was too much trouble & the gifts were presented in a wonderfully touching way on arrival at the hotel.
Our room was sumptuous, from the gorgeous four poster bed to the delightful pieces of furniture that had so clearly been thoughtfully selected. i defy anyone entering the room to have not been captivated by it.
Breakfast the following morning was taken gazing out over the enchanting & expertly tended gardens. The food itself was delicious, freshly cooked, beautifully presented and attentively served by a sweet, ever smiling and courteous young lady.
If you want to experience superb personal service at a wonderful hotel in a glorious city then Apsley House Hotel is definately the place for you. If you're looking for a sanitised, off-the-peg impersonal stay then there are a multitude of those readily available further into Bath town!
In fact no single element of our stay at Apsley House Hotel failed to live up to our expectations. And I can say, with absolute certantity, is that stays at Apsley House Hotel will figure significantly in our future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WideEyedLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

An overnight stay started with one of the kindest and attentive introductions we have ever received. The bedroom was a perfect statement of refined class and endearing charm. The whole hotel sits in an air of refined atmosphere and old fashioned service that is so refreshing in current times of plastic fast service conveyor belt type accomodation. Breakfast was served of perfect quality in a charming room with views of the garden, lit in delightfull morning sunshine. If you are looking for an escape from the formula chain-based room then stay here. If you have a romantic bone in yr body ....... you will love it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Apsley House in Bath and if you thinking of staying in this beautiful city, then look no further than this hotel
It's situated about 30 mins walk from the city centre and is easly accessible by car, taxi, bus etc....
Duncan made us very welcolme as soon as we got out of the car, and the first rate service didn't falter the entire weekend. Very helpful without being intrusive...
The room we had (room 5) was a decent size with en suite and a view of the rolling hills in front of the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, so don't dither, just book it!!! You wont regret it...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohwow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I suppose if I was a more experienced traveler, I would have taken one look at Room 11 and said I wanted another room. Apparently, "Garden Level" in the UK means underground. There was one glass door, which opened as a window at the top. Everything about the Apsley House was excellent, except that for visitors staying three nights, I would have thought we would have a room above ground. Be aware, there are, I think, three other rooms underground. In the US, there must be two means of egress, here there was one. Now, one would doubt there would be something happening to trap you down there, but, you are trapped. Also, they tell me Room 11 is the only one without a hand-held shower, which they did tell me in advance. So I think the prior reviewer is correct, they probably didn't rent out 11 rooms in the past. The linens were perfect and high-end, the room was not damp, the breakfast was excellent, although only 1-1/2 hours 8-9:30 to get to it, not great for jet-lagged. Service was perfect in every way. Walk to town not a problem, it depends on how much you are comfortable walking. I will say I think they know their shortcomings, and try to minimalize them, eg, yes, the walk is short to the END of town. It is in a crowded setting, although it was very quiet...probably due to being underground! ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellengloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCOPOTTS, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

We are terribly sorry that the reviewer did not enjoy their choice of room as much as we would have liked and we do value all comments in order to improve our facilities. We market Room 11 as follows (and this is the exact description send to the reviewer in response to their enquiry):

SUPERIOR FOUR POSTER GARDEN ROOM WITH EN-SUITE ANTIQUE ROLL TOP BATH
Located on the lower ground floor with its entrance door from the garden. This newly refurbished, romantic room has a massive intricately carved King-size Four Poster Bed, lavishly dressed in beautiful Dupion Silk and a walk through door into the bathroom which has a huge, very decadent, original antique roll top bath with column plunger (No Shower). This is the smallest of our Four Poster rooms and has its own outside entrance from the Garden. Shown on our web-site.

The reviewer had a choice of 3 different rooms, however this particular room was chosen out of the list of available rooms by the reviewer. The description clearly states that the room is located on the lower ground floor. In a detailed confirmation this was highlighted once again:

I am delighted to confirm your reservation for One Superior Four-Poster Garden Room with En-suite Antique-Roll Top Bath (No Shower or Shower attachment) located on the lower ground floor accessed via the garden for 3 nights arriving on…

A lovely room indeed, very romantic and private, liked by many but certainly not liked by all due to the smaller size, no shower/attachment and perhaps the outside access in less pleasant weather conditions but the Antique Bath, with the original column plunger, is a feature in itself and many guests have nicknamed this the "Honeymoon Room". We have taken the time to describe all our rooms in detail as to avoid any misunderstandings or disappointments, and will happily suggest best suitable room to fit individual requirements and the purpose of your visit, as we value all our guests and want them to have a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Thank you to the reviewer for all the positive comments included as well, this is highly valued by all of us and we hope to accommodate you in a more suitable room on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Just returned from an excellent 3 night stay. We received the warmest of welcomes from the owner, the care and attention to detail are excellent. The breakfasts are wonderful and the staff are so pleasant. Good location for Bath. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews