We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL TO FIND GOOD TASTE TO MATCH GEORGIAN BATH” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL TO FIND GOOD TASTE TO MATCH GEORGIAN BATH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We were certainly not let down by Trip Advisor. This a superbly run guest house. Welcoming, tasteful furnishing, enormously friendly and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GESTOCHARLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    156
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
169
958
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I booked this hotel for my husbands' 50th last week and despite the ever-increasing good reviews on this site I was stiil nervous as to whether it would be ok. I really needn't have worried as from the moment we walked into the beautiful reception to the moment we left, everything was just perfect!! We had the Romantic Room which has a four-poster and is beautifully furnished in keeping with the house. It was very quiet and we were not disturbed by any other guests, even though the hotel was full. The public rooms are elegant and comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice and a chefs' special that changes daily. We both had a lovely time and would love to stay again. My husband said that it was the nicest hotel he has ever stayed in and as he is not a man given to empty compliments, that is praise indeed!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east grinstead
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I took my husband to stay in this hotel last week for his 30th birthday following the recommmendations on trip advisor and I have to say the hotel lived upto its reputation.

We arrived later (about 9:30pm) and advised the hotel in advance. On arrival the owner welcomed us with smiles, took our bags and checked us in. All friendly, welcoming and very prompt. We were then shown where the lounge was with the bar (help yourself and write down what you had) and the breakfast room.
I had chosen the four poster bedroom on the ground floor and ordered champagne on arrival so when we got to our room (about ten steps from reception) it was beautifully presented with a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us. Bliss!!!.

Following morning we got up for breakfast and were served promptly and politely by the staff. we both ordered a full traditional breakfast and loved it. they weren;t the largest of portions but it was wonderfully cooked, the sausages were very good quality and the back was lean and grilled, the mushrooms was sauteed perfectly - just a wonderful way to start the day. Ofcourse there were juices and fruit salad aswell. other breakfast options such as boiled egg and soliers or poached egg on toast were avaialble and they looked good too from what were saw at other tables.

The rest of our stay was the same. All very high standards, good quality and welcoming throughout.

The location of the hotel is quite good - about a 20minute walk from town with things to see on the way (the parks, lovely architecture) and very close to The Bath Priory where we had dinner (we yummy food!!!).

We would defintaly go back to stay at the hotel when we next visit bath which I hope to be before the end of the year. I would defiantely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a personal touch away from the usual big brand hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonsabrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

A wonderful gem of a bed and breakfast in Bath. The hotel, whilst not in the immediate centre is close to public transport and also an affordable taxi drive, approximately £6.00. The hosts are welcoming and put customers' needs first. Rooms are super; we had a lower ground floor with a super-king four poster bed with doors onto the garden. Breakfast is excellent - don't go for the traditional full English try waffles with cinnamon and honey. Take advantage of the Spa package they offer - its very relaxing and you come away with some great Molten Brown goodies. Overall, a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Absolutely stunning, from the minute we drove into the private car park even the rain couldn't dampen our first impressions. I'm so glad I chose this hotel, the owners should be commended for the way they have made this house into a stunning small, quaint but very elegant hotel.
The room was amazing, No 5 had everything in the "WOW" dictionary, and the birthday girl she loved it that much she cried. The staff were so helpful and so relaxed, it felt like you were all part of the family.
In the morning when the sun decided to come out we went down for breakfast, fresh and hot and it tasted devine..and the best bit they even remembered the Birthday cake.
I can not thank them enough, andd I can assure you that we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drapesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

I chose Apsley House for my girlfriend's birthday weekend based on other Trip Advisor reviews. I could not have found better. We were given the beautiful four poster room in the basement, very convenient for the breakfast room(!), and found the accommodation immaculate, the service attentive without being intrusive and the breakfasts superb. I'd also asked about having a champagne breakfast on the birthday morning and this was delivered very cordially and really made my girlfriend's day. In view of all this, the half hour walk into the centre of Bath paled into insignificance. Would not hesitate to recommend Apsley House to anyone. Fantastic break, which I'll remember for a long time to come.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Apsley House Hotel and it is evident as soon as you enter why it has received such outstanding reviews. In fact the reviews received and the Stars it has been awarded do not adequately convey the spectacular accomodation, attentive and charming staff and the overall ambience that is Apsley House Hotel.
The outstanding service began even before our visit with furtive calls to arrange suprise gifts for my partner - nothing was too much trouble & the gifts were presented in a wonderfully touching way on arrival at the hotel.
Our room was sumptuous, from the gorgeous four poster bed to the delightful pieces of furniture that had so clearly been thoughtfully selected. i defy anyone entering the room to have not been captivated by it.
Breakfast the following morning was taken gazing out over the enchanting & expertly tended gardens. The food itself was delicious, freshly cooked, beautifully presented and attentively served by a sweet, ever smiling and courteous young lady.
If you want to experience superb personal service at a wonderful hotel in a glorious city then Apsley House Hotel is definately the place for you. If you're looking for a sanitised, off-the-peg impersonal stay then there are a multitude of those readily available further into Bath town!
In fact no single element of our stay at Apsley House Hotel failed to live up to our expectations. And I can say, with absolute certantity, is that stays at Apsley House Hotel will figure significantly in our future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WideEyedLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing