We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, beautiful rooms and wonderful acommodating staff”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent hotel, beautiful rooms and wonderful acommodating staff”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the very welcoming staff, who were also very knowledgable on the area. The room we opted for was the garden room with four-poster bed, the room was absolutely stunning and all facilities excellent. I had read some negative reviews about this room as there is no shower, however, the roll top bath more than makes up for this and is an excellent feature. You also recieve a lovely breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    160
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
179
989
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I may have been expecting more, due to the glowing reviews over the years. No, this is not the Four Seaons, but its homey and the more nights we stayed, the more we enjoyed this wonderful house and its innkeepers. Its old, though our bathroom (we stayed in the most expensive room) was modern and quite nice. The 4 poster bed quaint with modern TV mounted on the wall. The carpet could have been a bit newer, but I would certainly reccomend this inn to those who wanted to drink in some of the charm and uniquely English pleasures that accompany foreign travel. If you seek modern and new, this is not the place for you. I would suggest having a room that overlooks the very relaxing garden in the rear rather than the street at the front of the house.

As many have stated, the inn keepers are wonderful and do everything asked of them and more to help you enjoy this interesting area.

The distance from town was actually greater than I had thought, and we ended up with cabs and taking the bus which worked well. I think the walk a bit long especially if the weather takes a turn for the wet! The location puts you close to 2 very nice pubs with better than acceptable food and many wonderful brews. We sampled them both and didn't feel we were missing out.

3 nights were not enough. We spent one traveling south ending up at Stonehenge and returing in time for a short rest before heading down to the pub.

We have fond memories and am sure you will too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

This is excellent accommodation. On the outskirts of town so nice and quiet. We had a large bedroom and large ensuite with the a view across the back garden. Room was beautifully furnished. Bed was very comfortable. Spotlessly clean. House has a sitting room with bar for guests to share and meet. Breakfast was magnificent - plenty of choice, beautiflly cooked. Hosts were very welcoming and provided ample information on places to go and directions. Gardens were very well maintained. Off-street parking available.

We only had one night in Bath which is not enough to visit this lovely town. Plenty of shops, places to eat, city bus tours, river cruises, historical buildings and the Roman Baths (which were excellent), not to mention day spas.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandHils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

One of very few bed and breakfasts throughout England that combines traditional English elegance with modern day service and a genuine concern for their guest in all aspects. They are a shining beacon in a murky sea of decidedly ordinary B&B's / A forward booking is a good idea as they are naturally popular

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmundadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was our first night on a vacation to the UK and it was a great way to start the trip. Everything about the house was very nice and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and provide useful information about the area. They even helped us plan our next day and reserve accommodations for our next stop in our travels. The breakfast was excellent and we were even given a slight upgrade since the first room we requested online was booked.

A wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brapp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

If you like to eat out at different restaurants for dinner while on holiday but like a little luxury where you sleep, this is the place for you. The house was built for the mistress of the Duke of Wellington and is set in lovely grounds overlooking the hills around bath. Our bedroom with a large four-poster bed was set at the back of the building with a small set of steps leading up to the rear gardens and lawn where we could take tea in the morning or afternoon sunshine. Our bathroom - modern and luxurious - contained luxury Molson Brown toiletries. Anything we used in our suite would always be replaced at the next service time. The dining room was beautifully situated, also overlooking the gardens and hills and the manager/chef cooked the most delicious breakfasts to order. Service in the dining room was always prompt, accurate and polite.

As for the manager couple, they seemed genuinely interested in both the welfare of their guests and the guests themselves and were so helpful and friendly. This B and B is a 5-star accommodation and it rates it. Not cheap but if you want to spoil yourself and enjoy your holiday this is the place for you. By the way, if you arrive at an awkward time, they will prepare a light meal in the evening.

Location provides easy access to the centre of Bath.

If you want a recommendation for the BEST place for dinner in Bath (again not cheap) try the Bath Priory.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This hotel is beautifully decorated, comfortable and stylish, the breakfast was great too. Only one word of warning, if you like a lie in or go to bed early avoid room 12 (with four poster on ground floor) as it's right next to reception and not particularly private. I would definitely stay again though, as it's a lovely place just outside Bath town centre (approx 30 min walk).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing