We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with B&B feel”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with B&B feel”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We spent two nights here, in this large detached house about 2 miles from the centre of Bath.
The room was very nice, dominated by an impressive four poster. (We were in room 12, and as the web site acknowledges, because it is directly off the main reception and next to the breakfast room, we were woken early. It was a little dark and had no real view (although it is a garden room it is at the side of the house and looked out on to a gravel area and fence). But in rainy February this is not a concern!) The room had no bath, but the shower was large and the toiletries were all Molton Brown. There was a wardrobe, with iron and ironing board (always useful), fan and electric radiator. And in a large chest of drawers there was also a hairdryer. Teas, coffee and amazing Marshfield shortbread were very welcome additions (the only drawback being as there was no fridge there was only UHT milk.)
The breakfast room featured a huge window that overlooked a beautiful view and what would be a very nice garden at any other time of year. It also opened into the lounge, which featured an honesty bar and comfy sofas and chairs as well as a small dining table and chairs.
Breakfast included a good range of juices, cereals, fruit and yogurt. The menu had a good range of cooked options (a vegetarian cooked breakfast of sausage, tomato, egg, mushrooms and beans was also available) plus toast or croissant. (My only complaint was the weak coffee.)
The staff were all very friendly and helpful - offering advice on the best parking in town, using the nearby Park and Ride or buses.
The hotel offered a range of leaflets about the area, available near reception, as well as some nice reference books.
For those guests staying long enough to get bored with Bath's restaurants, the management will supply cutlery and crockery for you to enjoy a take-away.
There is parking for all the rooms, and if the weather is fine, just about half a mile down the road, past the cemetery, you can take a nice walk through Victoria Park, which will take you directly to the Royal Crescent.
All in all a nice place to stay - particularly if you are driving and the lack of parking in town proves a challenge. My only regret is not knowing there would be a dog roaming aoround.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    161
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
188
996
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate his birthday and we didn't want to leave! We were in one of the garden rooms, with a beautiful four poster bed and and enormous roll top bath! I was a little unsure about booking a room without a shower but no regrets - I was very happy to take a swim in the tub, I didn't miss having a shower at all. The staff were lovely, the breakfast delicious and the garden was very pretty (shame about the weather!)

The hotel is a way out of town. This didn't phase us but is worth bearing in mind. When we did get a taxi the price ranged from £5.50 to £8 depending on the driver! The walk is manageable though, and there is a nice scenic route through the park and up to Royal Crescent.

My only small criticism was the huge restaurant list provided. We would have preferred to have been given a half dozen solid recommendations as we were a little overwhelmed by the choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizz190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwater
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Both my wife and I stayed at Aspley house on the 9th of feb for her birthday we had treatments at the thermae spa so we arrived early at 12.15 upon arrival we were greeted with a beaming smile and was told our room was all ready but we dicided to the bags in the car and shoot off into bath for the day arriving back after a bit of a trek (our fault for not realising the buses are random after six) we got changed and reception booked us a taxi @ £5.50 only 1.10 more than a bus bargain had a great night's sleep in room 9 which has a fantastic 4 post bed a roll-top bath and gr8 atmosphere the breakfast was exceptional with my wife having an open muffin with bacon and egg and I had a full english wud defo stay again and have already recommended to friends we paid £80 which was more than reasonable

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven-john02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We have just returned from a weekend staying at Apsley House, the whole weekend was perfect, Apsley was enchanting and the staff were outstanding from the moment we entered to the moment we left. Nothing is to much trouble and their knowledge of the area was so helpful. The room was lovely and it was all the attention to detail which made it so special for us. The breakfast room was jaw dropping when we walked in, with a beautifull bay window to the garden and lovley high ceilings, the sun shone through and just made you feel you were in heaven...and the food was deffinatley to die for. We will be returning as soon as we can. Thank you Apsley House x

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Stayed here last weekend, the house is fab. The decor and layout is so nice and relaxing. Our room was big, spacious and really nicely decorated. It is a little more 'oldie worldy' but that's the charm of this house. The breakfasts are great and the owner and her staff are so professional and inviting.

Would recommend this hotel for a quite get away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmchenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed in the garden flat - 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with kitchen, lounge and laundry. Fabulous value for such spacious accommodation. The owners were friendly, attentive and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dd_and_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed for two nights in the four poster garden room. Had a lovely time the hotel was brilliant, the room was fantastic and the staff were very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I visited Bath

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mattc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing