We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
1,356
166
14
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
166
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barwellington roomromantic roombeau roomchampagne roomhonor bargarden suitecoach housefour poster bedslipper bathhalf hour walkdaily specialsmolton brown toiletriescity centrevictoria parkroll top baththe lower ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Located about 1.5m out of Bath to the west.
Free car parking. A good welcome on arrival.
Stayed in the "Romantic" room on the 1st floor. The room is quiet, a good size and well decorated in period colours and wallpaper. Good quality carpets, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Bed quality is high, so a good nights sleep. The 5 magazines in the bedroom are a nice touch, and the TV is fine.

New bathroom, tasteful with quality amenities. Bath just is a bit smaller than it looks.

Breakfast is very good, choice of fruits, juices are all good and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Plenty of coffee in a good sized pot.

Lounge area is comfortable, with a bar area that works on an honesty system.

All in all, a great place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expectantcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I recently booked weekend away in Bath with some friends and decided to stay at Apsley House after reading all of the positive comments on Trip Advisor. This hotel did not let us down. It is a lovely hotel with fantastic rooms. We stayed in the Champagne room which is very homely and newly refurbished.

As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and given maps and details of things to do. The staff were all very friendly and I have to say the breakfast was incredible!

The only slight downside of this hotel is that is takes a while to walk into the city, however it is a scenic walk and, as it was sunny, we didn't mind. We did get taxi's in the evenings though but that was around £6.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody it's great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemsieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Bath to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Not being terribly organised we booked last minute and only due to a cancellation were lucky enough to get a room at this lovely hotel. We stayed in Room 9 a truly beautiful room with direct access to the garden and a wonderful view. The en-suite is fab with a modern claw foot bath, large separate shower, luxury toiletries, and even bathrobes and slippers. The breakfast room is a gorgeous sunny room directly above Room 9 and therefore enjoying the same lovely views. You are slightly aware of people walking round in the breakfast room above from about 7.45am but this didn’t bother us one bit. Breakfast is of the highest quality with so much choice and beautifully cooked and presented. If you are planning a stay in Bath I recommend you reserve a room at Aspley House well in advance to ensure you don’t miss out!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

It starts with the warm, professional and hospitable staff, then you realize the well appointed rooms and bathrooms and the cleanliness of it all. A walk around the premises confirms that it is indeed a very good place to stay. The breakfast spread was well chosen and well prepared. It was sumptuous (with the best coffee in our trip) and the presentation and service were top notch. They even recommended great running trails around and in the city. A must to return to.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
Thank RBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed here before heading over to Lacock.

Firstly when we got here Duncan welcomed us and helped with the bags. He gave us a tour of the room (The Beau Room) which was very informative showing us how to use the big roll top bath (very enjoyable after a long day sight seeing).

The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, a good selection and nothing was too much trouble for Anel and staff, all of which were very friendly and helpful!

We were provided with a map of the city and were pointed out to the closest car parks and walks into the city centre, approx a 30-40 minute walk through the park and about £7 in a taxi. We were going to attend the Thermae Spa in Bath city centre and Duncan was very helpful and knew the necessary information for us to secure a visit the same evening we arrived which was lovely.

In the evening we wanted to eat out but as we hadn't previously booked anywhere we were in need of some advise which again, Duncan and Anel couldn't do enough to help, providing us with the collection of menus that they had in the foyer at reception.

Overall, we had a fabulous stay at Apsley house. The Beau Room was lovely, very private and had everything we needed during the stay with a good selection of teas and coffees! The staff were very helpful and friendly and we would definately recommend this people thinking of staying in and around Bath!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodmanbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews