We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect night away!”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect night away!”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Running a B&B ourselves, we know how hard it is to maintain standards and operate at this level, and Apsley House is a perfect example of how things should be done. Beautiful room with joriginal antique furniture as well as well thought out facilities. Breakfast was superb with perfect poached eggs (thanks for the tips), fresh fruits and welcoming staff.
All in all the perfect night away for us and one which we hope to repeat next year.
Thankyou and well done for running such a wonderful and successful business. You deserve all the accolades.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAtTheGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    161
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
188
996
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern United kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I consider that I am an experienced traveller and have stayed at many hotels both large chain hotels and the smaller ones too.
On this occasion I travelled with my sister to Bath for a girlie Christmas shopping weekend. The last time I visited Bath was twenty years ago. Seeing Bath again was just great. It is a beautiful city and reminds me a lot of Paris.
We attenfef the Christmas Market which is well worth a visist. There is also even a shop called 25th December!
We arrived at Apsley Hotel during early afternoon and we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The atmosphere and furnishings of the hotel were cosy, classy and fitted in with the type of hotel build.
My sister and I stayed in the Champayne room of which had a lovely king sized four poster bed and shower room. The bathroom was nice and modren with toiletries supplied. The bedroom was cosy and very pretty with a wall mouted flat screen TV. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There is also a detailed welcome book that gives you all the information on the hotel, city of Bath and what Bath has to offer. You can even purchase a take-away and have it in your room. Napkins, plates and cutlery can be supplied if you ask at reception.
The day lounge and bar is beautiful with floor to ceiling windows with beautiful views of the gardens. The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk from the city centre. A taxi will cost you about 8 pounds. My sister and I enjoyed the walk each morning after breakfast to the city.
The breakfasts are the best ever. There is the usual fruit juices and cereals as well as fresh fruit such as melon, blueberries, strawberries, grapefruit, prunes and pineapple. Tea or coffee.
Then you have a choice of porridge made to order even with a hint of whiskey if you want it!
Then you can have a full english breakfast which consisted of two eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, grilled rosemary tomato and two fried eggs. Eggs are to order so you can have poached , scrambeld or fried. Another option is a poached egg on muffin with crispy bacon, chefs special or scrambled egg with smoked salmon. I opted for the scrambled egg and smoked salmon which was just delicious!
If you prefer to have a bath opposed to a shower then the Romantic room may be your choice.
I plan to come here again next year.
IT is one of the best hotels that I have experienced.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed in e "Peninsular" Room with King-size Bed and En-suite Bath and Shower for 3 nights. E whole place was very warm n cozy, makes u feel really at home.

Location - wld b great if u had a car, it's in a quiet neighbourhood not near city centre. U cld grab a cab / bus if u don't have a car.

Room - lovely decor, very spacious.

Others - lovely view of Bath's residential area from e breakfast room. Breakfast was great, we looked forward to the meal every day! Service was great, the hosts provided lots of advise when we asked & they were very polite. U cld feel that they were trying to make u feel at home.

I will definitely return if I'm back in Bath in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Have been staying several nights a week since early October - first time I have received a hotel recommendation from my daughter - and have not been disappointed at all. After nearly 20 nights thought I should write a short review.

Really good breakfast to start the day off. Wifi works well in all rooms and is free unlike some places I have stayed where it is not accessible in bedrooms or is only available in public areas, or one has to pay for it. I understand that there are routers on all floors which is worth the investment.

Having tried out a few rooms now the only difficult bit is trying to work out which room I should select when bringing my wife to Bath for a stay. Pleasant walk into town although rather cold recently.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

WOW! I don't even know how to begin describing how amazing the Apsley House is! From the moment I arrived from my long travels from the U.S. I was kindly greeted and assisted with my bags. I was taken up the stairs to the most adorable and cozy room (the Vittoria Room) with one of the largest bathrooms I have ever been in while vacationing (MASSIVE for European standards). The rooms was splendid, even with the perfect little touches: bedside bottled water, and a tea box that had an assortment of teas and hot chocolate complete with little cookies! The complimentary breakfast (OKAY. Let's just say if you want to have the best breakfast of your life order their traditional English breakfast....UNBELIEVABLE!!! It was so tasty that I daydreamed about it all day while I was out exploring Bath and couldn't wait to wake up the next morning and have it all over again. It was that good! Incredibly impressive for a breakfast included in an incredibly decent price!). This place is hands-down the best place to stay in Bath. The prices are reasonable for what you get, it's in a very decent location, and the staff is SUPERB! Again, best place I have ever stayed, and I will most definitely be returning someday. If you are a smart person, who wants a great place to stay, you WILL book this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliottblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Apart from the fact that the rooms are gorgeous, the people running it made it an extremely pleasant stay. They could not have been any more helpful. Then to top it all off, the breakfast was fantastic.
If you are staying in Bath, my advice would be to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escapee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Just stayed at Apsley House Hotel for two nights and would like to thank all the staff for making the stay memorable. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and all are cheerful, a real credit to the hotel.

The hotel itself is beautiful, and the breakfast is of the highest quality. On our next visit to Bath we will definetly be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing