We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming english hotel”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming english hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We went to bath for a long weekend, and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The decor is lovely and the rooms very cosy - our room did feel a little cold at times when we had come in from exploring in the evening, but there was a small fan heater provided which we used. the bathroom was large and spacious - only problem was that the water temperature kept going from hot to cold in the shower.
We sat by the log fire in the communal lounge one evening which was lovely - they have an honour bar so you help yourself and write down what you have had.
Service was good and the staff very friendly. breakfast was ok - we're vegetarian so not as much choice in hot food. Would have been nice to have muffins or fruit yoghurts, but they had a good selection of cereals and fruit, enough to fill you up.
The location was a little bit out of the centre of bath - the first day we walked in but it took a good half hour, so we got a cab or took the bus after that.
All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londongirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCOPOTTS, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
For any "worried" Vegetarians out there - we happily cater for you!
Our breakfast buffet consists of Fresh fruits, juices, cereals and creamy Greek yoghurt. Besides this, you also have a choice from a menu for a cooked breakfast:
*Porridge (with or without whisky)
*Traditional English (Vegetarian sausage and baked beans substitute the meat for a vegetarian choice)
*Smoked Salmon with Poached or Scrambled eggs
*Toasted muffin (the bacon can be omitted or even substituted with mushrooms or tomato)
*Boiled eggs with soldiers.
*Chef's choice of the day (this can be anything from Omelettes to Pancakes - special requests are welcomed)
To accompany, you can order tea, coffee, toast and/or croissants (fresh out of the oven to order)

All our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order; you can therefore alter any choice as you wish - we have served fried eggs on porridge before when requested!

Currently we are in the process of refurbishing our 4 top floor rooms, which will bring the bathrooms (along with any hot/cold water issues) up to our usual high standards. We sincerely apologise for water temperature fluctuations which have been a problem in the past. These rooms will all be completed by the 2nd weekend in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    161
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
188
996
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed at the Apsley House Hotel to celebrate a birthday during the last week of November. We were in the Copenhagen room on the lower ground floor and all we can say about the room is 'wow' - a room full of character, great value for money and well presented. We were equally impressed by the welcome we received from Nick, one of the proprietors - warm, helpful and offered to help us with our luggage. This was our first visit to Bath and the Apsley House was a mere 30 minute walk to the centre of things, so it was an ideal base. We had a wonderful, memorable stay at this hotel and will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandTEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Lovely small but grand hotel, friendly staff, great room with molton brown smellies and super power showers and fantastic breakfast. Seems to be busy all the time due to trip advisor status so could not get a room with a view but we were not at all dissapointed. Massive beds with pillows like clouds. Easy to get into town as bus goes from stop opposite. Also walked - it took about half hour. Perfect for a romantic weekend !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURNHAM, SLOUGH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I had booked this hotel – The Wellington Room for New Years Eve night and New Years day night at the rate of £170 per night when the usual rate is £95 – this was ok given the time of year.

We arrived in Bath and went straight to the Royal Cresent Hotel for our Spa appointments which I had booked. The Spa here is small and cosy and feels exclusive.

We opted for the:

THE BATH HOUSE TREATMENT
1hour 55 minutes £85

The Bath House signature treatment offers a coordinated treatment which combines many of the spa s special features and is highly recommended for guests visiting the spa for the first time.

The Bath House Treatment takes you through a sequence of bathing, cleansing and body exfoliation. The first 45 minutes is divided between visits to the wet and dry heat Karahafus (steam and sauna), relaxation in the teak–lined tubs and a full body sea salt and essential oil exfoliation. This is followed by a full body massage using one of our unique personally blended Bath House oils.

It was exactly as described and well worth the money.

After the treatment we then went to check in to Apsley House Hotel and were met by Duncan who graciously welcomed us and told us about the local tourist attractions upon check and then delivered our bags to our room which was the Welling ton room. The room was very large with high ceilings. I was a bit disappointed with the cushions and bed spread as they didn’t look like they were washed as part of the laundry process but I easily moved them away to reveal a very large comfortable and clean bed. One must remember that this is an old building and the rooms are in character and not modern contemporary. The bathrooms however are contemporary with large slipper baths. I wouldn’t recommend the Wellington room for disabled people as it is on the first floor and the bath room is in my opinion a little bit congested with the sink, bath, loo and shower cubicle. I couldn’t get into the slipper bath as it is quite a high large bath as I wear artificial legs and its quite a large, high bath. The large ceramic floor tiles are also very slippery when wet. There is however a shower cubicle in the room.

Dinner for New Years Eve night was at the amazing Italian Café Martini’s – please see my review on Trip Advisor for this restarant if you are an Italian food fan.

After returning from dinner my wife and I went into the communal lounge where there is an honesty bar where you can get a drink and record yourself what you had so it can be appropriately charged. I played the piano in the room and my wife sat by a roaring log fire – picturesque and cheesy yes, but true! It was at this point that Duncan came in for a chat and I asked him if Apsley House was haunted – and indeed it was. By an old man opening the main glass door near reception, a few cats and a couple of howling dogs, not to mention the young girl and things moving in the Wellington Room !!! – my fault for asking. We slept the first night amazingly well, but not so the second due to us feeling a presence! More like paranoia!

Breakfast the next morning was delightful and I had two soft boiled eggs with soldiers which was served in two silver egg cups.

The next day was spent at Cheddar Gorge – lovely caves and a good active day out.

Overall the hotel is lovely if you like character and quality but I wouldn’t recommend it for disabled people.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehan07860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutland uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in the Wellington room which at £165 per night is the most expensive...but extremely spacious and with great views. We were looked after faultlessly by the owners - a genuinely friendly reception, help with luggage to our room and recommendations about what to do in Bath. Our bed was huge and comfortable; bathroom looked like it was brand new - a bit cold since it was heated by 2 towel rails only - maybe to be expected since the weather was unusually cold.
Lovely sitting room and honesty bar. Breakfast service was prompt and friendly, with lots of choice and quality ingredients. Juice was not freshly squeezed.
Location - a bit out of town but that means it's quiet....and it's only a 20 mins walk, £2 bus ride or £7 taxi into the centre. Hop Pole pub 1/2 a mile towards town is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RutlandUkRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My partner and I chose Apsley House as an early Christmas break - and it turned out to be the best thing we did!
Everything at Apsley House oozes charm and class - we stayed in the Romantic Room - an ideal choice! Would definately recomend anyone to stay here - we are already planning our return visit - Thank you Apsley House for making our christmas one to remember - even arranging for snow to fall overnight lol xx

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed 3 nights travelling as a group of four for a Christmas break in Bath. We were all very impressed with our stay at Apsley House Hotel. We appreciated the wonderful Christmas tree decorated in the Entrance Hall. The hotel was warm and welcolming, our rooms were very tasteful and comfortable.It was wonderful to sit in the comfortable elegant lounge reding the papers by the fire.The breakfasts were first class providing a great variety of fresh fruit and cooked choices. We all felt great effort was put into the cooking and serving. Both of the hosts were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would definately recommend a stay at this hotel, we would love to return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing