We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaffee Fassett and the Folk Art”
Review of American Museum

American Museum
Ranked #14 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Situated in a glorious Georgian manor house within 120 acres of wonderful grounds and stunning scenery, the American Museum in Britain is home to the finest collection of Americana outside of the United States. Visitors learn about the Founding Fathers, the pioneers West, Native Americans and the Slavery issue which lead to the Civil War in the new interactive American Heritage Exhibition. This precedes a series of attractive period rooms dating from colonial times until the eve of the Civil War. These rooms set the scene on domestic life throughout the exciting settlement and independence years of America and are accessible via a lift for those who have difficultly with the manor house stairs. The museum has an outstanding quilt collection which allows us to alter the permanent textile display from time to time (40-50 quilts are on show each year) and an inspiring Folk Art gallery intrigues visitors with whirligigs, cigar store Indians, weathervanes and even a Mohawk ship figurehead! Main season Mid-March to November, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-5pm. Cafe & Gardens open from 10.30am. Closed Mondays except during August and Bank Holidays. Christmas season Mid-November to Mid-December, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-4.30pm. Cafe open from 11am. Closed Mondays. Free shuttle bus from Bath city centre to the museum throughout afternoon, see website for schedule.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kaffee Fassett and the Folk Art”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The K Fassett was busting with colour and the Folk Art room is wonderful. Some of the other rooms could do with a more modern approach to the displays but it's a great museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathfinder_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    168
    36
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The quilts and the Kaffe Fassett exhibition”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the way the museum was built up around different time periods - fantastic job moving old US homes/rooms and replanting them in Bath.
I came for the textiles - both the old quilts and the current Kaffe Fassett exhibition. The way the old quilts were hung made it possible for me to study the actual quilting stitches up close. I am a fan of Kaffe Fassett's patterns - fabrics, embroidery and knitting - so it was a real treat that my visit to Bath coincided with the exhibition of 50 years of his work in the UK.
We had coffee and excellent scones at the café - set in the garden with a beautiful view.
We took the free shuttle bus there - and got an interesting lecture about the making of the museum from the driver.
A very pleasant afternoon.

Helpful?
1 Thank MB-F2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“visited to see Kaffee Fassett exhibition”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was very surprised and delighted to find he was exhibiting in this museum, so that was my main reason for going. While I delighted in the colourful works of Kaffee, the other in the party browsed in the antique map collection next door, which was more his cup of tea. I didn't know anything about the museum, and I still don't know as our visit was very short due to time constraints - I do know that I'll return one day. Lovely gardens accompany the museum. Well worth visiting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“History, Craft and Quilts”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Popped over to The American Museum, nr Bath, to see Kaffe Fassett. Upon entry to the exhibition, we were greeted by woolen baubles hanging from a huge tree. The street light and railing had also been decorated in knitting. Fab photo opportunity. Exhibition was spectacular. This man is prolific. Tapestries, wall hangings, ceramics, hats. Room of rainbow colours. Then onto the Cafe, by 1.30 running short, but lovely soup and got dishes. Sandwiches to order. Onto the American Museum. Fantastic collection of America through the ages. Interactive displays for children. Period rooms depicting American living from 17th to 19th Centuries. Extremely interesting and informative and the Room Stewards were so enthusiastic with their fascinating facts. Then onto the American Quilt section. Massive selection of beautiful quilts. Extremely interesting, even for someone not usually a craft enthusiast. Great selection.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A very interesting and informative museum set in absolutely beautiful grounds. We went on a very hot day and thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the terrace overlooking the valley for our lunch.enjoyed the museum and especially the Kaffa exhibition too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank katesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing