We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of an exhibition about one business”

Museum of Bath at Work
Ranked #34 of 160 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
essex england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More of an exhibition about one business”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We enjoyed it , but it was mostly about one old business in Bath that they manage to buy the remnants of.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    6
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The faithfully reproduced factory settings were fascinating and gave real insight into the workings of a mid-1900s workshop. There was lots of information available and the displays were all wonderfully set out and visually appealing. This will delight anyone who is mechanically inclined or interested in how industry can shape a city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank keyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“step back in time”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This museum is different and very interesting. As the brochure says, 'The Bath engineering workshops and fizzy-pop factory of Victorian businessman J B Bowler closed in 1969 after nearly 100 years of trading. Tens of thousands of objects - from sealing wax to steam engines - are displayed in authentic settings.' In fact, the whole lot was carefully photographed and set up again in this building so it's just like visiting the original - it even smells like a factory. I found the old 'shop front' and office particularly interesting, and there are other fascinating displays as well. I know nothing about manufacturing or tools or machinery, but I found it a fascinating step back in time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank profecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bath as it was!”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This Museum all about Bath as it was many years ago. was excellent value for money. and totally absorbing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 45scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

As a local, I tend to know the local museums and sights; this is a museum worth hunting out as it shows a side of Bath far away from the romans, the georgians and all the other stuff the town is famous for.
Inside is a partial reconstruction of a factory that originally lived at the bottom end of town. Mr Bowler never threw anything away so you have a cornucopia of odd objects from a period of a 100 years or so. Give yourself time in the wonderfully reconstructed offices, shop, factory floor to absorb all of the details and tiny objects that were part of someone's working day - not Georgian ladies in hats, but ordinary working blokes, bosses in bowler hats, workers in caps. Also realise what we lost when people like this closed up, no more shops on the corner where you could get anything - rather than a trip to a chainstore shed with gormless staff.
There's a serve-yourself cafe on the top floor, a small shop with DVDs showing local events from the past (well worth £4) and knowledgeable staff that suceed in making you interested.
My wife and I visited during heritage week and we were glad we did.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Spicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Bath at Work also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Bath at Work? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing