We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Bath at Work

Museum of Bath at Work
Ranked #35 of 154 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was a highlight of my trip to Bath. Clearly, the prior reviews were written by people who didn't enjoy it as much as I did, but I found it a fascinating exhibition of social history. Comprising the story of an individual machining and bottling business active over a hundred years in Bath, it tells the story of one family, but it illustrates a small manufacturing concern by use of its own machinery, much of it developed by the founder to further his purposes. There are also sidebars from other concerns native to Bath. Even the building, a "real tennis" court, was interesting. "Real tennis" derives from the term "royal tennis" and is played on a much larger court than today's game, with the balls caroming off the walls as they do in squash and racketball. The museum has only one paid staffer, and is staffed primarily by volunteers, which never falls to warm my heart. These folks give their time for the love of sharing the history of their city with all of us, and do it well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank utahtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“more interesting than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

As other reviewers said, it's really mostly about one business. But the business did so many things, and the workshop was preserved so well, that we enjoyed it a lot. I wouldn't travel far to see it, but if you're in Bath, and have some time, it's well worth a visit. I now have a much better idea how brass foundries ran and how unsafe they were, for example!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everett, wa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Odd site for a specific tourist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Interesting to my wife and I. It is really a collection of the relics of a personal business, run by - apparently - a cheapskate who did very well for himself. I was interested in the factory as it was before government safety regs! No guards or safety details in this shop - no one thought of it back then! I assume if you lost an arm to the overhead belt that drove your piece of machine shop equipment.....oh well, don't come in tomorrow - you are of no use to me now. If you ever worked in a machine shop - this site is for you!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tobyzeigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More of an exhibition about one business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We enjoyed it , but it was mostly about one old business in Bath that they manage to buy the remnants of.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The faithfully reproduced factory settings were fascinating and gave real insight into the workings of a mid-1900s workshop. There was lots of information available and the displays were all wonderfully set out and visually appealing. This will delight anyone who is mechanically inclined or interested in how industry can shape a city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank keyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Bath at Work also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Bath at Work? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing