We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free brochures at least”

Bath Tourist Information Office
Ranked #33 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Free brochures at least”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The woman we spoke to seemed stressed and tired of tourist already. Alarming in May... Maybe just a bad day for her. £1 for a city map that should be free. You don't need to buy it though, Bath is small and there are plenty of maps on display around the city centre. Or download their Bath app.

Helpful?
3 Thank santakatarina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    15
    10
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
568 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Useful inspiration for new places to visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The tourist information office contains lots of leaflets and books about Bath if you are looking for ideas of new places to visit. While I was there I picked up some information about ghost tours and boat trips that I hadn't been aware of previously. The tourist office also provides information about free walking tours although you'll need to book early and these are very popular.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Bath Visitor Card - excellent value!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Not really a review of the TIC - which is perfectly good and whose staff were helpful - but an endorsement of the Bath Visitor Card, which can only be bought there. The Card, which only costs £3pp, is excellent value for money. It provides either a discount or '2 for 1' admission at many of Bath's museums and attractions, plus some other discounts on shopping and eating out. It seems to have undergone some changes for this year, and several places did not seem to recognise it at first sight, and there are now fewer restaurants taking part in the scheme. However, we got our money's worth from using the Card from visiting just two museums - and with the '2 for 1' deals, it dawned on us that only one of us needed to have bought the card (this might be different for eating out discounts)! Note that the Card doesn't give any reduction at the Roman Baths but discount vouchers are available on online voucher sites. Just one other note of caution - look out for combined tickets for Bath Preservation Trust properties - these might work out (marginally) cheaper than using the Card.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank foxjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Free, Friendly and Informative 2 hours - what more do you want?”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A free 2 hours tour around the highlights of bath with a local volunteer guide. These run most days of the year from near the baths. Our guide took us around key locations pointing out points of interest, historical connections, facts and figures. He was friendly and informative, happy to answer questions.

Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marob37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Free walking tour of Bath”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

While the attendants inside the "information office"- which by the way is really just a gift shop- were not at all helpful, we had received a tip from a travel book to join one of the free walking tours offered from the Abbey courtyard. The courtyard was bustling and it was a little confusing trying to figure out which group was the right tour but once we found it, the tour was wonderful!

Our guide included many interesting anecdotes about the history of Bath and some of the main players in its history. We enjoyed seeing some of the sights that were already on our must-see list, like the Royal Crescent. Amazing value for a free tour. I would highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Bath.

The walk is brisk and lengthy with limited places to sit down, so take that into account if you are traveling with someone who is easily fatigued.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank CraigsOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bath Tourist Information Office also viewed

 

Been to Bath Tourist Information Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing