We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay”
Review of Beckford's Tower

Beckford's Tower
Ranked #47 of 156 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Beckford's Tower is now closed for the winter, reopening on 5 March 2016. The elegant, golden-topped neo-classical tower on Lansdown Hill was built by Henry Goodridge in 1827 as a retreat for the brilliant writer and eccentric William Beckford. Born to great wealth and endowed with precocious talent Beckford created magnificent buildings in which to store his extraordinary art, furniture and book collections. Today the tower houses a museum dedicated to Beckford. The magnificent spiral staircase sweeps up to the Belvedere with its ornately gilded lantern affording breath-taking views over Bath and the surrounding countryside. At the foot of the tower is the Victorian cemetery, once part of Beckford’s pleasure garden, where both he and Goodridge lie buried. Check the website for our regular ‘Behind the Scenes’ tours of otherwise private parts. Exhibition 4 June – 30 October: The Towers of Bath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were luck enough to discover there is an apartment adjacent to Beckford's Tower that can be reserved. We spent three nights in an absolutely amazing location. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable, plenty of space in a large dining/living room, and our own 'private' tower! Cannot recommend more highly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GayLynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If you have a free pass visit otherwise don't”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

There is a nice view and a small collection. There is nothing wrong with what they have, but do not go out of your way for this. It is free for national trust pass holders and there is a little free parking. We went, but stayed less than 25 minutes including climbing the 127 steps if the tower with three children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

On the outskirts of Bath the website states it is a 45 minute walk from the tourist area but we drove out and glad we did. It was built by William Beckford in 1827 who is also buried in the graveyard surrounding the tower. We enjoy the challenge of climbing towers and have climbed them all over the world, this one is relatively easy with shallow steps so easier to climb. Only cost £4 each to get in and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“very helpful and informative staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This tower has a fascinating history, with lovely views over Bath and beyond.
Would have liked to have been able to climb higher but I guess health and safety do not allow it.
Only open at weekends and Bank Holidays.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury,Wilts
Level Contributor
347 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fantastic view over Bath”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

What a wonderful tower. The views are fantastic, building is very interesting and there is a great mini museum there. Also around the tower is the graveyard which is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beckford's Tower also viewed

 

Been to Beckford's Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing