We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small”
Review of Bath Postal Museum

Bath Postal Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.26*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #46 of 156 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel a timeline to follow the history of the British Postal System through exhibits and displays on the history of the Mail Coach, air transport and airmail, military mail, sea mail and railways.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Too small”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I felt that the charge for entry to this museum was unnecessary. There was no warning of cost until I had gone downstairs and felt awkward about turning around and leaving. I spent less that 15 minutes in this museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 848KMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First class!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A great but tiny museum that doesn't draw huge crowds (but should!). Interactive fun for kids (and kids at heart) and a great little shop alongside it. Definitely check it out if only to dress up as a postie from the past.

Helpful?
1 Thank hatchlingstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The museum is tiny and staffed by very enthusiastic people. I was the only person in the museum the entire time I was there. The staff seemed excited to see a person and escorted me around for the first part of my visit. It didn't take long to see all of the items. There were a lot of interactive displays that would be good for children.

The entry price was minimal. The museum does not appear to be well known. The locals I was staying with had never heard of it.

It is not a must do place but is a pleasant enough way to kill time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden gem of a museum”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My friend and I visited this wonderful, informative little museum of the post office which is situated under the main post office in the centre of Bath. It was fascinating. I would recommend it to everyone, truly an under used resource.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bath Postal Museum”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This little independent museum is well worth a visit. It is below the town's main post office with the entrance down some steps to the right of the door. All ages will enjoy the exhibits - some are interactive, some video recordings, a dressing up box, opportunities for drawing and a charming little shop with many items at pocket money prices. I learnt a lot about the history of postal services in this country. The valentine and greetings cards hand embroidered were a visual joy, many dating from WW1. It doesn't take long to wander around and the entrance fee is very reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizzieB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bath Postal Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bath Postal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing