We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prior Park Landscape Gardens
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the steep hill to get there!

A steep hill about a mile long to get there but buses do go right passed. A lot of work going on... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Glen504216
,
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Views

This is a wonderful garden with some beautiful structures and amazing views of the city from the... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2021
reeceyb
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 816 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bath
from US$21.05
More Info
from US$18.24
More Info
from US$28.06
More Info
from US$23.85
More Info
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
502
241
52
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
502
241
52
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palladian bridge national trust steep walk nt members bath skyline city centre worth the effort lovely place to visit lakes palladium dam picnic path trees route field
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2019

The walk in the park was beautiful and certainly burned off a few calories – this is not a walk for those who are less able-bodied, as you often have to go over rocky terrain or down steep steps if you choose the longer walk instead of going straight down the grassy hill towards the bridge. Don't wear fashionable shoes here and risk twisting your ankle, either – some of the areas have a gradient of 25%.
It's a shame there isn't better information about how to get to and from the place, either – after searching around, the number 2 bus from the city centre gets you right by the entrance. We were recommended by the tourist information workers in the city to get a sight-seeing 'hop on, hop off' bus, which would be worth the cost if we wanted to take the bus multiple times, but a local bus made far more sense for just the park.
The entry cost is fair for how long you spend at the park – I had an Art Fund card, so my entry was free, while my boyfriend's cost £8. It's worth taking water and some snacks if you're going to make a day of it. The location was very beautiful, clean and quiet at the time we went (1pm). It was lovely to sit on the banking and relax in the warm weather.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank JDS_Daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

There were lots of things I enjoyed, I particularly liked how the paths would meander through various habitat types and how well maintained and clean the site was. The water was clear enough that I saw a newt! The video in the Grotto was interesting and the staff were lovely both at the entrance (particularly Annie Bestherwick) and the café. The café itself had a great selection of food and drink items at reasonable prices. The children’s musical interpretation circle route was also very fun for individuals of all ages but was quite steep.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Elean0r2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenR3106, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Thanks for the interesting comments and glad you had a good visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

This park is just beautiful. It was glorious weather during our visit which allowed for breathtaking views. We caught the number 2 bus from the bus station in the city centre which dropped us off right outside the gates. It was £8 each to get in as we are not National Trust members but it was definitely worth it. It is a circular walk with the first park being all down hill but on the return half it was a mighty hike which on a hot day was quite tiresome but on arriving at the top near the school, the views were glorious. There were plenty benches along the way which made the walk much easier. This is definitely a must see on a trip to Bath.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank meldazlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenR3106, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Thanks for the fantastic review and we're glad you had a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2019

Lovely place to stroll around - a lovely landscape park or jardin d'anglais, with extensive walks, vistas, interesting bridges, ruins, and plants.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

We were so lucky with the weather on our visit and ended up spending hours just wandering. Lovely views and great time for pease and reflection. So well cared for as well.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank JLONGSTAFF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenR3106, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews