We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prior Park Landscape Gardens
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the steep hill to get there!

A steep hill about a mile long to get there but buses do go right passed. A lot of work going on... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Glen504216
,
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Views

This is a wonderful garden with some beautiful structures and amazing views of the city from the... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2021
reeceyb
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 816 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bath
from US$21.05
More Info
from US$18.24
More Info
from US$28.06
More Info
from US$23.85
More Info
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
502
241
52
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
502
241
52
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palladian bridge national trust steep walk nt members bath skyline city centre worth the effort lovely place to visit lakes palladium dam picnic path trees route field
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2019

We walked through the length of this beautiful park with so many vistas around every bend. A bus will drop you off at the entrance but getting back is a problem as there is no bus stop at the lower end. We chose to walk back into town rather than return by the same path up the hill. The Palladian bridge is beautiful. The ponds are being drained and redesigned.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferNTPriorPark, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you had an enjoyable visit. For future reference, there is a return bus stop to the Town Centre from Ralph Allen drive opposite the end of Church Rd. The walk does take around ten minutes, but it is relatively flat and you don't have to walk back up the hill. Best wishes, Jennifer, Prior Park Landscape Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2019

Walking here on a sunny day was the perfect way to spend some time. Chiled out environment and lovely kept grounds.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Logyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferNTPriorPark, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your time in the garden. Best wishes, Jennifer, Prior Park Landscape Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

We enjoyed walking through this landscaped parkland and particularly enjoyed sitting and taking in the views of Bath and the gardens themselves from the numerous vantage points. Having taken the bus from the City Centre we decided to walk back which was most enjoyable, as we included a stretch along the canal in our walk. So peaceful.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 64,625,456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferNTPriorPark, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the wonderful views of Bath and the garden. Best wishes, Jennifer, Prior Park Landscape Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

There are a few steep points, but most of the walks are fairly easy. Several stunning views, including a great view of Bath; make for great opportunities as well as relaxing places to stop.
The park is twenty minutes walk from town and buses also stop right outside.
Prior house has been turned into a college, but the gardens allow for views of this grand property.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank SouthGranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferNTPriorPark, Public Relations Manager at Prior Park Landscape Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the garden. Best wishes, Jennifer, Prior Park Landscape Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019

The walk in the park was beautiful and certainly burned off a few calories – this is not a walk for those who are less able-bodied, as you often have to go over rocky terrain or down steep steps if you choose the longer walk instead of going straight down the grassy hill towards the bridge. Don't wear fashionable shoes here and risk twisting your ankle, either – some of the areas have a gradient of 25%.
It's a shame there isn't better information about how to get to and from the place, either – after searching around, the number 2 bus from the city centre gets you right by the entrance. We were recommended by the tourist information workers in the city to get a sight-seeing 'hop on, hop off' bus, which would be worth the cost if we wanted to take the bus multiple times, but a local bus made far more sense for just the park.
The entry cost is fair for how long you spend at the park – I had an Art Fund card, so my entry was free, while my boyfriend's cost £8. It's worth taking water and some snacks if you're going to make a day of it. The location was very beautiful, clean and quiet at the time we went (1pm). It was lovely to sit on the banking and relax in the warm weather.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank JDS_Daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews