We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Quirky”

Sally Lunn's Museum
Ranked #20 of 160 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the "Sally Lunn Bun" is the oldest house in Bath, which features a kitchen museum reflecting Roman, Saxon and medieval heritage.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Quirky”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The museum is the actual building and some of its original features. I enjoy visiting such quaint rambling buildings, but it won't be everyone's cup of tea if you've travelled to Bath on a Roman quest. In the main we popped into Sally Lunn's for dinner. The food was outstanding. There is an extensive menu which I would advise checking out on the web site first. It could be a little overwhelming seeing the numerous delights for the first time. Do try a Sally Lunn Bun. Fabulous comfort food soaked in one of their delicious sauces with a main meal. If you like desserts, skip starters..... you will be FULL. You may have to book a table during holiday periods as this is a very popular little spot.( I went for my Birthday in January and there was plenty of space) - We will definitely visit again when in Bath.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drache22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    338
    179
    40
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little place for lunch. not much of a museum but the buns are really good. A little overpriced for what you get.
We had pimms it was just pimms with some orange segments if your going to offer pimms on your menu I think you should do it right (cucumber strawberries and mint) but thats me being picky.
we bought some buns to take home as they were very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank K4A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Yummy ”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Very quirky with a lovely welcoming feel. The cinnamon butter bun is so delicious. You get half of a large bun which is light and airy with a good choice of yummy toppings. Give it a go.

Helpful?
Thank TammyWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a museum - just an expensive tea shop”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I researched my trip to Bath on Trip advisor beforehand and mistakenly thought that Sally Lunn's Museum was a museum - it is NOTt. It is an expensive tea room split over many floors of a rickety old building. The food was nice but totally overpriced. Unless you are a tourist (who might find the tea room quaint and symbolic of an old England) then steer clear. This is a tourist trap.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank England_UKKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathbunman, Owner at Sally Lunn's Museum, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Katie. The Museum is in our cellar - perhaps you missed it? There are indeed 3 refreshment rooms above all serving historic and unique fayre in one of Bath's oldest houses - if not the oldest [not sure it is rickety but the floors are certainly not level...] . The museum shows the original bakery and oven used by Sally Lunn in the 1680s to bake the first of her eponymous and now world famous buns. It also has excavations that show the history of the house back to Medieval Bath when in all likelihood the oven was used to bake for the monks at Bath Priory [2 buildings before the current Abbey]. We are small but we pack a huge amount of history into our little house - which is an almost unique reminder of pre Georgian Bath. The buns are really yummy too. Next time you are in Bath call and ask for me and I will happily give you a guided tour personally. Best wishes Jonathan - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty buns, but so slow”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Not too much of a queue to seat 7 of us, but goodness, we waited nigh on an hour off our sandwiches/buns. Very tasty but a bit too slow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSoozieque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sally Lunn's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sally Lunn's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing