We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience to forget” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bathwick Street B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bathwick Street B & B
Ranked #72 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience to forget”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lisa and Peter, the owners were not available for phone calls or present when we arrived on June 27th, 2011. We had called from London to inform them we were runnng late - never got a response. When we arrived, no signage thus difficult to locate this B & B. We had to ask a neighbor to try and get in touch with the owners. When Lisa did arrive and showed us our bedroom - we were not happy. The shared shower was not clean and the toilet did not work. We did not sleep. The next morning while we were eating a meger breakfast, Lisa wanted to know where the two frosted glasses were that were in our room. We had moved them off the dresser to utilize the space. She also indicated that they drove in from Birmimgham to host us as those were the rules. Very unprofessional

Room Tip: Work with the local tourist bureau. We asked for off street parking in our initial booking and thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thanks for your review.. Has your annoyance got anything to do with the fact you tried to leave at 6am without paying!! we caught you and sorry, but you had to pay up.. You obviously had not read the website info about our Georgian bohemian townhouse built in 1793, which, sorry, but we haven't tried to make into a Barrett Home!! It was obvious that it was not the type of accommodation you were looking for. We do not have wall to wall carpets or TV's. We have never offered off street parking,as don't have it but had no contact with you about such a requirement..infact we had had no attempted contact from you until 9pm in the evening,letting us know you were just about to leave London, although we tried to call you on numerous occasions to try and rearrange your accomodation. As you were made aware in the morning,after the runner incident, we had a member of close family pass away quite suddenly on the previous day, so alternative accommodation would of suited all...Sorry you chose not to eat your breakfast, but i think by that point you and Mr Tice were incredibly embarrassed about being caught. We work closely with the Tourist Board, especially on this occassion as had to warn them about your criminal behaviour.In fact we had thought you may have tried to steal some of the antiques too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#4 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#91 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#18 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bathwick Street B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bathwick Street B & B

Property: Bathwick Street B & B
Address: 16 Bathwick Street, Bath BA2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful five storey Georgian Townhouse, built in 1792, situated in central Bath. The house contains many orginal features, such as a cooking range installed in 1805, high ceilings,open fires and antique furnishimgs. There is a compact Four Poster Room with en-suite shower room and a very large superior king size bedroom with a large roll top bathroom. See photos. Guests enjoy free high speed internet. We are a few minutes level walk to the Roman Baths, Abbey, Thermae Spa and city centre restaurants. Breakfast is served in our large kitchen with original cooking range(1802). Choose either a large continental buffet breakfast with a selection of breads, some home-made, including rye, sourdough, bagels,cereals, yoghurts, croisants, a selection of cheeses, cold meats,salamis, pancetta, optional boiled eggs and homemade conserves. Or a Scandinavian breakfast of herring, smoked fish, rye bread, homemade bread, homemade pickle, cereals,yoghurts and a selection of cheeses . Both breakfasts also include a choice of teas and coffees, fruit juice and fruit. Please note check-in is normally between 2pm and 10pm. Check out is by 11am. We are a family run bed and breakfast and do not operate a reception desk. No minimum stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing