We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bathwick Street B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bathwick Street B & B
Ranked #72 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunbury on Thames
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Having been invited to a friends 40th, my husband and I wanted a reasonably priced, pretty B & B. We dislike stuffy, modernistic and clinical rooms so after having looked at photographs on the web I took the plunge! Liza texted us which was very organised and helpful for our stay. We arrived late but that wasn't a problem for her. Liza was friendly and helpful. I LOVED the house...as did Rob. The bed was sooooo comfy, the bedding and towels clean and fresh. The house was stunning yet homely and so our thing! We had a cup of tea in our room and felt very welcomed. We arrived back late and in the morning not only did Liza and her equally wonderful husband Pete provide a HUGE yummy breakfast, but we chatted and chatted and chatted! Beau their little boy was so well behaved and smiley too!
I cannot think of a nicer place that we have stayed, and with a more friendly family.
When we pop over to see our friends we will stay again. We will bring the children as they would love it too. The living room was beautiful, the bedroom equally so.
THANK YOU so much chaps...We loved it and felt very pleased with our lucky find!
All the reviews I have seen are similar so well done Liza and Pete...see you anon!

Room Tip: We had the front edroom, although there was a little noise from traffic...we thought it was so beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilliamsbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thankyou for all your lovely comments about our family run b&b. It was great meeting you both, see you soon. Liza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I have just stayed here for one night as we needed somewhere close to the uni for a swimming competition, we could believe how close this actually was and how close to town it was excellent, you could also park straight outside the front door perfect!
Liza was very polite and friendly and very welcoming and she didn't mind us communicating by text of our arrival time.

A lovely property.

The breakfast was huge! And very lovely we also had a nice conversation with Liza over breccie and was greeted by little beau.

We are in bath for many of our swimming competitions so will defiantly stay here again.

Thanks
Charlotte

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thankyou for your comments about our b&b. It was great meeting you, hope you had a good day on the Sunday, Hope to see you again. Liza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here together with our 15 month old son. Liza, our hostess, was very helpful in sourcing a cot for him. The room was large and comfortable. A shared bathroom was reflected in the price and was clean with plenty of hot water. We were even given use of a large lounge to ourselves. The breakfast was a real luxury - a Swedish cold fish plate, a meat plate, cereals, croissants and so on. We could walk into central Bath in about 10 minutes passing a beautiful mature park on the way in and out - perfect for our son. Liza went out of her way to make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayBhuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thankyou for your review, i'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The room will be ensuite from Jan, so will have a large bathroom too. We are always happy to accommodate families as, as you know have small child ourselves. Thanks again. Liza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We are a recently married couple from Spain and Lithuania and a few weeks ago we were staying in a beautifle hotel in Bath. If a dream of a traveler like us is to feel on your trip not like in a cold hotel but like at home, then this was perfect! Or, better said, it was imperfectly perfect! We were unlucky with the train connections and came late to Bath but Liza was very kind and helpful on the phone, let us to check in at 10 a. m. (!) and her husband Pete came to pick us from the station although the hotel was close indeed! He also gave us a short tour from the car through the main city attractions and indicated the best way for walking there. Pete and Liza were very kind, had a lot of information on tourist sites at the B&B and treated us like friends.
After talking on the phone, we met Liza and their lovely child first in a cheese festival which was actually the aim of our trip to Bath. The adjusted to our needs and likes, gave advises on things to do and to see. The room was very big and spatious and felt like in georgian house of XVIII century. We are admirers of historical houses and art, and that was a perfect match for us. The living room could be used by all the guests staying in house, and the bathroom was shared, but that didn't cause any trouble. Everything was charmful and lovely, though not perfect in a material sense. After a tiring day we felt privileged to lie down on a stylish bed and take tea and coffee from a kit that was left for us in the room. We could pay in a most convienent way for us by card or cash, there were no problem at all. They even gave us a good price for a next stay! (which was absolutely unnecesarry, as we would pay for this quality).
The best part was still waiting for us in the morning - an abundant breakfast in a unique Liza's kitchen. Spanish jamon, bioled eggs, toasted bread, a variety of marmalades and chutneys, English tea and tasty coffee, everything was served by Liza during a kind conversation with her, little Beaux and a pleased couple of other guests. And the biggest surprise was delicious cheese they had bought on the festival last evening! I repeat again, it felt like home and even more than that. This was not a customer-host relations, it was more like friendship. We left this nice hotel with a lot of illusion to be back there with family and friends or maybe to see Liza, Pete and Beaux in our city on their travel some day! Thank you again for your hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giedre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Hello, thankyou so much for your lovely comments about our family and home. We were so pleased to meet you and would love to meet up again, hopefully when we visit Lithuania. It's such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay, especially for your honeymoon.. We are having another bathroom put in so if you come again you will have a floor to yourselves. Thanks again, Liza, Pete and Beau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were looking for different accommodation to the norm and something with a bit more flair and uniqueness and this was just what we experienced staying at this lovely home. Having been in contact with the owners and received useful advice on getting there we were able to park in the street just outside and it was very easy to find. Once in the home we were very warmly greeted by Liza who quickly settled us in and showed us around and told us lots of useful information about parking and places to go out to in the evening.

The house had beautiful traditional features and original artworks as well as period furniture. The bathroom was shared but no one else was staying. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast in the families kitchen which was a delight and felt very homely. I enjoyed smoked salmon, mackerel and a boiled egg but there were other choices and plenty of tea and juice!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: We were going to have the smaller room but Liza said the larger room was available which was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Tradge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thankyou for your very positive review. It was great meeting you both, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had such a wonderful time for your anniversary in Bath. It's always such a pleasure to have people staying that appreciate the house, as we love it. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lisa and Peter, the owners were not available for phone calls or present when we arrived on June 27th, 2011. We had called from London to inform them we were runnng late - never got a response. When we arrived, no signage thus difficult to locate this B & B. We had to ask a neighbor to try and get in touch with the owners. When Lisa did arrive and showed us our bedroom - we were not happy. The shared shower was not clean and the toilet did not work. We did not sleep. The next morning while we were eating a meger breakfast, Lisa wanted to know where the two frosted glasses were that were in our room. We had moved them off the dresser to utilize the space. She also indicated that they drove in from Birmimgham to host us as those were the rules. Very unprofessional

Room Tip: Work with the local tourist bureau. We asked for off street parking in our initial booking and thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thanks for your review.. Has your annoyance got anything to do with the fact you tried to leave at 6am without paying!! we caught you and sorry, but you had to pay up.. You obviously had not read the website info about our Georgian bohemian townhouse built in 1793, which, sorry, but we haven't tried to make into a Barrett Home!! It was obvious that it was not the type of accommodation you were looking for. We do not have wall to wall carpets or TV's. We have never offered off street parking,as don't have it but had no contact with you about such a requirement..infact we had had no attempted contact from you until 9pm in the evening,letting us know you were just about to leave London, although we tried to call you on numerous occasions to try and rearrange your accomodation. As you were made aware in the morning,after the runner incident, we had a member of close family pass away quite suddenly on the previous day, so alternative accommodation would of suited all...Sorry you chose not to eat your breakfast, but i think by that point you and Mr Tice were incredibly embarrassed about being caught. We work closely with the Tourist Board, especially on this occassion as had to warn them about your criminal behaviour.In fact we had thought you may have tried to steal some of the antiques too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#4 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#91 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#18 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bathwick Street B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bathwick Street B & B

Property: Bathwick Street B & B
Address: 16 Bathwick Street, Bath BA2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful five storey Georgian Townhouse, built in 1792, situated in central Bath. The house contains many orginal features, such as a cooking range installed in 1805, high ceilings,open fires and antique furnishimgs. There is a compact Four Poster Room with en-suite shower room and a very large superior king size bedroom with a large roll top bathroom. See photos. Guests enjoy free high speed internet. We are a few minutes level walk to the Roman Baths, Abbey, Thermae Spa and city centre restaurants. Breakfast is served in our large kitchen with original cooking range(1802). Choose either a large continental buffet breakfast with a selection of breads, some home-made, including rye, sourdough, bagels,cereals, yoghurts, croisants, a selection of cheeses, cold meats,salamis, pancetta, optional boiled eggs and homemade conserves. Or a Scandinavian breakfast of herring, smoked fish, rye bread, homemade bread, homemade pickle, cereals,yoghurts and a selection of cheeses . Both breakfasts also include a choice of teas and coffees, fruit juice and fruit. Please note check-in is normally between 2pm and 10pm. Check out is by 11am. We are a family run bed and breakfast and do not operate a reception desk. No minimum stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing