We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect taste of Bath......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bathwick Street B & B
Ranked #81 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the B&B for the Bath Half and we couldn't have found somewhere better to stay. This was the best B&B I have ever stayed at and owners (Liza and Pete) were amazing hosts. The rooms were quirky, unique and we even had our own lounge which have port/whiskey inside. The rooms were spotless and variety at breakfast (which included homemade bread) was to die for. I would highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay and is only a 5 minute walk to the town/train station. Anyone staying here will not be disappointed and we will come back soon, Lynsey & Jack

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

The townhouse has been beautifully renovated and it was a real pleasure to stay in such a well loved and elegant Georgian property. Liza and Pete were extremely welcolming and were very helpful in suggesting places of interest in the local area. There was a good variety of food at breakfast which was served in a huge family kitchen with open fire. I would recommend the Townhouse to anyone looking to experience a real taste of Georgian Bath.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mills0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We made a last minute trip to Bath last weekend from London and managed to get into this B&B. The family who own and run the house are lovely and go out of their way to make you feel at home,comfortable and enjoy your stay in Bath.

The house has been styled with taste and decorum and is short 5 minute walk to the bath's in the centre.

The breakfast was lovely too!

Recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We really couldn't have found somewhere better to stay in Bath. Firstly this was one of the few B&Bs in Bath that would do only the one night stay, which was ideal for my partner and I. On arriving in Bath and finding the B&B, we were shown around their home and offered the larger of the two rooms, which was absolutely stunning. Breakfast was by far one of the best we've had in a B&B, down in the
family's basement kitchen, with a choice of meats and cheeses as well as fruit, toast, nuts and croissants.
Thank's to Liza and Peter's hospitality, we would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annelieseO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

A hidden gem. After some hunting for a good deal this seemed like the best option location, price and ratings wise. The price was very low compared to other b&b's in Bath.
It was our first trip to Bath and it was very easy to find walking from the train station.
The host and hostess were extremely welcoming both when we arrived and throughout our stay. Casual and relaxed but informative when we needed any directions or suggestions as to what we should spend our time doing.
Plenty of food at breakfast time and a very pleasant change.
The rooms are absolutely stunning. We stayed in the smallest bedroom but this was large. We were supposed to be sharing a bathroom with the other guests but this was not the case and we also had full use of a drawing room (pictured). This was a beautiful room.
Will be returning for a second visit in the summer and will be returning to Bathwick Street B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here with another couple as a base for some Christmas shopping in Bath. The first great thing about this B&B is that it offers you the option to just stay for 1 night over the weekend - I couldn't find any others without the 2 night minimum. Liza and Pete were great hosts, and made you feel extremely welcome with lots of recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The private lounge was beautiful with its huge Christmas tree, we felt like something from a period drama!

There is nothing we can criticise about our stay. The location was perfect (6 min walk to town centre), rooms were lovely, and breakfast made a nice change from the greasy fry ups you would expect from a B&B. If you're looking for an ideal base to explore Bath that's got buckets of character and charm - then I would recommend you stay here. We will certainly be back next year! Thanks Liza and Pete!

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely, but the front bedroom is enormous and beautifully decorated. Worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Thankyou for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and your time in Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We came to Bath for the Christmas atmosphere and booked through the Bath Tourist Office not really sure what it would be like. But this B&B was a real gem of a genuine Georgian Townhouse. It felt like something from a Dickens novel. Very atmospheric, especially at night. When invited to help ourselves to drinks in the drawing room we felt really welcome.The kitchen still has a cooking range from 1800!!!. Liza and Pete were great and all in all we had a super time on our trip. Thanks .Barbara & Paul

Room Tip: 2 rooms, one smallish the other huge. Both very georgian feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.0 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
574 reviews
7.4 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bathwick Street B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bathwick Street B & B

Address: 16 Bathwick Street, Bath BA2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful five storey Georgian Townhouse, built in 1792, situated in central Bath. The house contains many orginal features, such as a cooking range installed in 1805, high ceilings,open fires and antique furnishimgs. There is a compact Four Poster Room with en-suite shower room and a very large superior king size bedroom with a large roll top bathroom. See photos. Guests enjoy free high speed internet. We are a few minutes level walk to the Roman Baths, Abbey, Thermae Spa and city centre restaurants. Breakfast is served in our large kitchen with original cooking range(1802). Choose either a large continental buffet breakfast with a selection of breads, some home-made, including rye, sourdough, bagels,cereals, yoghurts, croisants, a selection of cheeses, cold meats,salamis, pancetta, optional boiled eggs and homemade conserves. Or a Scandinavian breakfast of herring, smoked fish, rye bread, homemade bread, homemade pickle, cereals,yoghurts and a selection of cheeses . Both breakfasts also include a choice of teas and coffees, fruit juice and fruit. Please note check-in is normally between 2pm and 10pm. Check out is by 11am. We are a family run bed and breakfast and do not operate a reception desk. No minimum stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing