We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House Bath
Ranked #117 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

- OWNER
Caroline was lovely via email (prompt helpful responses) and even more so in person.
She greeted us with warm smiles, showed us the place, gave us a map and directions, and we had the feeling she was always available if we needed, without ever being intrusive. A really pleasant host who made us feel welcome and well taken care of.

- LOCATION
The house is a lovely 10'-15' minute walk from the train station. Very handy despite not being right in the town center.
The whole town feels extremely safe even late at night. We walked back to the house at midnight without any problem.

- APARTMENT
Bath is quite expensive, but this place is one of the cheapest you can find. Also, it's not just a room in a B&B/hotel, it's a one bed apartment with cooking facilities.
The self-contained apartment is just next the owners' home and it shares the lovely garden, however you have your privacy, and you can go in and out the property by using a little gate at the back of the garden.
There are two comfy single beds (2 more people can sleep in the living room if needed), the bathroom has a bathtub/shower and even a washing machine, the kitchen/living room is lovely, with big windows that let you enjoy the view of the garden. The pictures you see here tell the truth.

- BREAKFAST
It was great: instant coffee, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits, good variety of cereals, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, eggs, milk, butter, honey... and a freshly made loaf of bread (delicious!).


I will definitely be back and I would recommend this place to anyone.

Thanks again Caroline, you made us enjoy Bath even more!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AM10_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I cannot add much more to the other excellent reviews on here. The accommodation was clean and well presented.

Some useful things for others to know… Various breakfast items were left for us; a choice of mini Kellogg’s cereals, Alpen museli, semi-skimmed and skimmed milk in the fridge, along with ham, eggs, yoghurts and orange juice. There was also fresh fruit, honey, jam, marmalade, butter, sugar, instant coffee and instant decaf coffee, two types of hot chocolate, various individually wrapped teabags and ground coffee too.

Hand soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were all available in the bathroom.

There is a decent sized L-shape kitchen area with a small table, so if you are staying for a few days you could comfortably cook (oven, hob, microwave, pot & pans etc.) Washing-up liquid, cloths and tea towels are provided. There’s even a washing machine!!!

There is also a TV in the bedroom, with a supply of DVDs. Magazines are dotted around the place, but not really any for men to read. There’s a good list of local eateries provided in the accommodation, including takeaways.

Caroline was a great host and her lovely freshly-baked bread was a real treat.

For us, the two major benefits of staying here were the location (so quiet but really near to the city centre, just 5-10 mins walk) and the fact you are totally on your own schedule… get up for breakfast when you are ready!

We had a lovely, totally relaxing time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsPog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Garden House is wonderful. Plenty of space for us and our two teenagers. Lovely light rooms. The annexe has its own access and it looks over a lovely garden. It was a bonus to have full cooking facilities and the breakfast was fabulous, especially the delicious home-made bread. A private parking spot was handy too. Nice easy walk into the city centre, but a lovely peaceul location to get away from the hustle and bustle. Caroline, the proprietor, is so helpful with lots of great ideas for places to eat. A fantastic stay. My only regret is that we weren't staying longer. We will defininately come back. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was a dream place to stay, a beautiful garden house, with a lovely garden, your own privacy, and the proprietors are just so lovely, and helpful. The breakfast is all there for you and the home made bread is delicious. It was such a lovely place to relax in, and made our two day trip in Bath a really memorable one. I would thoroughly recommend the garden house as a perfect place to spend an idealic time away in the beautiful city of Bath.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitcase38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I came here with my husband and were both really delighted. Its a nice spacious, private annex and the easy distance from town really made it. Bath is a great spot for a long weekend. We went to the spa and did a bit of shopping and had a great time! We will be back... Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a great two night stay here. Pleasant walk to the centre of Bath - we came back along the canal from the Holburne Museum. Spacious apartment all to oursleves! good for relaxing. Thoughtful extra touches; enjoyed the magazines, fresh flowers and of course the bread! Thank you, we had a really nice break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johhnyg535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We've just got back from a great weekend at the Garden House, it's brilliantly located for walking to the city centre, and we had a very comfortable stay (proper feather duvets and pillows). The breakfast is lovely - fresh bread every morning - and we felt completely relaxed and at home. There were four adults in our group and even though two were on futons in the lounge it did not feel at all cramped. I will definitely be staying again, a really great little find. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#72 of 154 in Bath
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
1,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
1,795 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Bath

Property: The Garden House Bath
Address: 2 Adelaide Place, Bath BA2 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House is situated in a beautiful garden of a Georgian Terraced house. It is very private and secluded, and only a very short walk into the bustling city centre. The Garden House has been refurbished to a high finish. It is light and airy and sleeps 4 - double bedroom and pull out double bed. There is an area upstairs with steep stairs that can act as a chill out area or can accommodate another 2 single beds if required (with additional costs for 6). The kitchen is well appointed if you want to cook with oven, microwave and hob. There is a washing machine, dishwasher and fridge. Beautiful bathroom/wet room with walk in shower and also a bath. The Kennet and Avon Canal is 1 minute away with beautiful walks. The local supermarket is similar distance and very well stocked for most things. National Trust land only a few minutes away for great walks and beautiful views of the city. It is really quick and easy to get into the city and only takes a 10 minute stroll to be amongst the shops, sites, bars and restaurants. The Garden House is very close to the city centre. It takes no more than 10 minutes to walk down the hill and into the city. Number 18 (university bus) bus stops on Bathwick Hill nearby by the Tesco mini-supermarket. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing