We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place for afternoon tea.”
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
Ranked #4 of 7 Dessert in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect place for afternoon tea.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I went there on Saturday after experiencing the Jane Austen festival for a pleasant afternoon tea before the long journey home and I was not disappointed. I have eaten in many of the branches of Patisserie Valerie and this is definitely one of the best. The building itself was pleasant, and the staff were as ever friendly, helpful and not at all supercilious or snooty. I ordered the Organic Earl Grey tea with blueflowers, which is perfect, it is less overpowering than pure Earl Grey but you still get the kick. As ever it came in the cafe's large teapots, with the tea in a metal infuser within it, so none of the fuss you usually get with loose leaf tea. I ordered their infamous Tarte au Citron as an accompaniment and it was of the usual high standard, the pastry being not heavy at all and the lemon flavour present but not overpowering. The staff were very friendly and chatty (as much as is possibly when you are so busy and popular) and I left the café feeling very happy and full. The prices are not cheap, but you do get what you pay for and I don't object to paying £6 for such a quality repast. I will definitely go again, and would recommend it to anybody who likes good quality tea with tasty accompaniments. The location right opposite the Guildhall and its markets is also ideal for shoppers and tourists and locals. An essential part of the Bath experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjws1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    125
    42
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great sweets to eat for a treat...”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Popped in here for a quick calorie top-up between tourist attractions and were very pleased indeed; ordering a custard doughnut, Giotto, a latte, and a Darjeeling tea, we were presented with an enormous doughnut around twice the size of your standard supermarket doughnut, very generously filled with great-tasting custard, a sumptuous Giotto, and a separate tea-pot and strainer for the tea.

All the food and drink was fantastic and of the highest quality, which matched the fine service we received; efficient but never making us feel rushed at all.

A high-chair was willingly offered and provided for my young daughter, which was also appreciated.

The menu and items on offer in the window look so good, that you feel you could eat your way through the lot of them with no problems.

If you're in Bath, and want to treat yourself to something over the usual coffee shop cake or pastry, then this is the place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesUKChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty, very tasty”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

There was no doubting the quality of the food. Both my almond franzipan and my wife's pecan and walnut tart were sensational. Drinking a cappuccino can be very matter of fact most days but here the flavour really grabbed my attention. It was superb. The initial service was quick without being rushed though could have been a little more attentive when we wanted to query when the water we had ordered hadn't come.
Don't sit back and relax whilst surfing the web - the place seems to be a Wi-Fi blackspot

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not sure if we were just unlucky”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and definitely not impressed. To be brutally honest the food looked fine, the cakes actually looked very nice but it all tasted of nothing very much. The staff weren't awful but not great either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
454 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good coffee and cake”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We only had coffee and a Tarte des Fruit which we shared and was very tasty. The location is good and the staff were friendly and efficient.

We look forward to going back when there is a bit more of an interval between our visit and eating lunch to each choose something from the wide range of yummy looking cakes and tarts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing