We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel needs complete renovation. The pictures shown on the website must have been taken some time as there is little resemblence to the real thing. A great shame because the position of the Hotel is perfect for all the attractions bath has to offer. Unless there was a very great change i would not go ther again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    49
    129
    135
    452
See reviews for
107
245
65
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

To be greeted at reception with breakfast is extra but we're not providing on a Sunday was an ominous start, then to be told the no smoking policy, which I applaud, if transgressed would result in a £50 fine, an aggressive welcome.

Apprehensively we negotiated the stairs to room 205 the route of which would not pass Building regulations. Bath Council need to assess their licencing policy. The room...... at least it was being aired with the window left open, was small with a bed squeezed in. Now the real negatives;
- The bed, had a mattress! that was lumpy with broken springs and every move resulted in excessive noise, later keeping my wife and I awake
- The room was dirty, the light switch did not work
- The En-suite....one word....FILTHY, with mould on the ceiling, non functioning extract fan, non functioning heated towel rail. The toilet bowl was filthy with caked on Calcium, the photographs I have uploaded do not demonstrate this enough.
Fundamentally I would not expect this standard of accommodation in a hostel let alone a tourist hotel claiming to be an "elegant Georgian Town House Hotel" and if this is still a hotel developed by Tom Jones and Engelbert Humperdinck, they should be ashamed. Also be aware the car park is not free as stated on the website. £10 WAS REQUESTED !. Yes I did approach the reception to be offered an alternative but this room was worse, cheekily the receptionist said we could swap with our friends.
Leaving the next morning we chatted to other guests all of whom were unhappy, thankfully we did not have water dripping on our bed, like one couple experienced. This "fine hotel" is anything but.

Room Tip: Don't book it, stay well clear. Book Loch Fyne stayed earlier in the year for £15 more; included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Went to Bath yesterday with a friend for The Christmas Market,the weather was terrible but that didn't dampen our spirits. We dropped our bags off at The Redcar early and set off to enjoy the market.
Around 4pm we decided to go back to the hotel to check into our room and then the reality set in. Big mistake!! the hotel was shabby, seedy and had the feel and look of a DHS hostel about it. Couldn't imagine using the bathroom facilities and after some deliberation we decided to cut our losses and leave. In my opinion the hotel should be shut down for total refurbishment.It is in a great location and beautiful street but sadly there was nothing about the hotel to recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

When arrived, the one person on reception, who had 'love' tattooed on his knuckles, was not helpful when asked about where to eat, and had no idea which rooms were doubles or singles, as had booked 1 room of each. The room we were allocated (205) was supposed to be a double, and although there was a double bed in there, when you eventually found a light switch, I had already walked into the bed. This was a single room, with a double bed squashed into it. Luckily the person we were travelling with swapped (208), and the room was larger, but the bath had a hole in it, the inside of the bath was dirty as was the shower. The room was so hot even when I turned the radiator down, and had to open the window to get in some air, but being on the front road, we had noise all night. The bed was very uncomfortable, and if I was there for more than one night, I would have had to have found somewhere else. If you suffer with back problems, its best not to stay here.
Yes the location was fantastic, so close to the town centre, but with lack of parking nearby if you wanted to stay longer you would have to find a car park and walk, the nearest was a short stay which was 250 yards from the hotel.
Good for a 1 night stay, but would not want to be there any longer than that. Would not go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

As i travel this beautiful country i have stayed in some great accomodation but this hotel was a complete joke and if i hadn't paid upon entry they would not have recieved a penny i have tried to get a refund but michal denta is a fraud and a liar along with his staff and the complaint procedure is non existant it is like an off spin of faulty towers but run by manuel rather than basil i would strongley recommend you avoid this place like the plague as it probably has the plague you could possibly get a better nights sleep in an amusement arcade and definately have a more enjoyable experience. The good reviews were probably written by the staff as i can imagine that no self respecting person would lie on such a grand scale please please please avoid at all costs!!!!! once again the rogue trader to look out for is Michal Denta!!!!!

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I committed the deadly sin and booked this hotel before checking out reviews on tripadvisor and was about to cancel my booking when my partner persuaded me not to. Could this hotel really be that bad? I am so glad I did not cancel and for once take notice of the narrowminded revies. What do people want from a hotel. Myself its about location, value for money and character. This hotel in my opinion has all three.

You come to Bath to experience its history and architecture. To see the amazing Royal Crescent and Circus buildings, but to be given a chance to stay in one in a building with such character was a privilege. Much better than the soleless modern hotels wit box rooms that are identical and you could be in any town.

Yeah, the hotel is a little shabby and could use a makeover, but in a way it just adds to the character of this old building. Great value for money.

The hotel is in easy reach of all the shops, the amazing Weir (check out the cafe at weir level) and Royal Crescent (don't bother with the tour bus).

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful (don't understand previous reviews at all in this regard, unless they don't like or appreciate the directness of our eastern european friends) - get a life.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear with good views of a park and nice buildings (great view when it snowed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penndav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2012

please please no one go here ever again,the staff are so terrible,was told no breakfast after we had arrived which we had paid for in the £105 night hotel.extra £10 for parking in the designated hotel spaces.no hot water,had to walk down corridor from our room to shower,the place was so dirty and dark went as soon as we woke up.terrible place should not be advertised as its so misleading.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing