We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel located near the center of Bath is reasonably priced. It is 'what it is'. True it does need refurbishment and although the bathroom was clean, it does need a make over. Apart from that, the beds and sheets were clean the reception staff helpful. The proximity to the center and the ease of parking are the main attraction for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    50
    130
    143
    474
See reviews for
118
250
69
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Wyrley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel was booked for me and my mate for a weekend away for my 40th ... Well it is shocking .. I am not a fussy person and will make the best out of anything however you really can't polish s*** ! We were put in a room that I felt was below sub-standard when asked to move they offered us a smaller room that was even worse and the other room was only better as the windows would open! The bathroom looked like it had been built as an 'optional extra'! The only two good things were that it was very close to the centre of bath and the staff were friendly enough ... However, although I will be returning to bath I will not ever stay at the Redcar hotel again ..

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

KentUK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This dreadful place has only one point in its favour : it is in the centre of Bath, just over the Pulteney Bridge, a short walk away from the heart of the city. Bath itself, of course is wonderful and it is a great shame that this hotel is representative of it. What can one say? The best advise is that if you drive yourself, check out where the Long Term car parks are and then walk or take a taxi to this hotel should you decide to book a room in it, their own car park is hopeless and risky (first come first serve). The room we took was a couple of chancy flights up (no lift), it had wires all over, one dim table lamp, rickety beds, the lavatory very questionable, a handle in the bath hanging loose and rusty, the shower didn't work. And the staff were surly and unhelpful. In fact it is amazing that in 2013 a hotel like this is in business.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Looking for a good value hotel in Bath (an expensive place) I opted for the Redcar over another hotel nearby because it offered en-suite accommodation and free parking. Reviews on the booking site seemed OK but I regretted it as soon as I approached the front door! The photo shown above appears to be very old as the sign is not just faded but falling apart! Prior to arrival I had tried to contact the hotel by phone/email 5 times to reserve parking & check catering with no success. On entering the foyer I was assailed by the smell of stale sweat - it smelled like a locker room although it could simply be that the male receptionist was unfamiliar with the concept of deodorant as although very pleasant in manner he was distinctly unkempt. I have a poor sense of smell but it was so bad that I was almost reluctant to leave the bedroom which was actually quite clean and hurried through the foyer on leaving to meet friends in the evening. I had booked a single but think I was upgraded to a small double which would have been great except that the en-suite was distinctly bijou (tiny sink that you couldn't even fill the kettle from); the bed blankets were scratchy; the wardrobe was ancient and on blocks; the yale door lock didn't work and had to be turned inside/locked with a key outside; the curtains were hanging off the rail and didn't meet properly; the sash window opened from the bottom and could not be secured as despite being potentially accessible from another part of the hotel it had no catch although a bolt was provided to hold it open at a perfect height for pigeon entry but not for human sleep! Carpets on the stairways were worn and rucked plus there was electric cabling wound through the decidedly dodgy banisters. On returning from my evening meal out I asked where breakfast would be served only to be told that no breakfast was available and a café on Pultney Bridge was recommended! The café WAS lovely...

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We read the reviews after booking the place and were horrified but also humoured. It was too late to cancel. We arrived with very low expectations. The lounge is quaint but the rooms are as bad as all the other reviewers have said. We stayed in 301 and 302. If we had not been prepared we would have been horrified. However the receptionists were both really nice guys and very very helpful and the sheets were clean. We turned up for one night with all our own bedding and fans! They were a little shocked at the amount of luggage we dragged up to top of the building.

If you don't mind slumming it for one night, the location is brilliant.

Room Tip: You need to be fit to stay on the upper floors. The fire doors are really heavy and there are many s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a disgrace. It is shabby and tired, but more to the point it is unsafe.no evidence of PAT testing, curtain rails hanging down, stair balustrade wobbly , dirty Linen piled up behind fire exit door and down stair wells, nails sticking out of furniture, holes in walls, lights not working, terrible smell in hallways, sash windows do not open. Forced into staying there because Bath was full as was attending Special Olympics with vulnerable adults. Reception staff member this morning was truculent ,charged for parking when we had been told we could have free spaces, then so abusive & weird when tried to point out H&S matters, we called police who arrived to help. There were a number of men hanging around the Reception area too, who kept walking in and out, very intimidating. I have never experienced anything like this place, can't believe it is allowed to operate in city like Bath which is so heavily reliant on tourism.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just checked out of the Redcar. Our expectations weren't high as we realised it was a budget hotel. However, fire exits blocked with bed linen, fire doors held back by hooks, loose carpets and wobbly stair banisters and dodgy electrical lights and appliances are a real concern. The male receptionist who told us this was only his second day working there was unable to do anything with our concerns as in his words 'it wasn't his job and he didn't know what to do'. Decor is old fashioned but the awful musty overpowering smell isn't down to just being old. This hotel is not fit for purpose and unsafe. Are we leaving it there - no - a call to the local authority will happen who hopefully I turn will make appropriate arrangements for this hotel to have the necessary visits. There is an accident waiting to happen here. Best advice - Avoid it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing