We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath trip two tunnels greenway”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bath trip two tunnels greenway”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel clean and warm, no bar or restaurant but as on a weekend away with friends this was not an issue as there are many great places to eat and drink nearby. It's well situated near Pultney Bridge, and as Bath is such an expensive location my feeling is that it offers good value. Great for doing the Two Tunnels Greenway walk of 13 miles as it's on the route. Great for a group who just want a well situated place to stay rather than for a romantic weekend away as there are no amenities and the rooms cramped

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    50
    130
    143
    474
See reviews for
118
250
69
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and a number of friends followed suit and joined us by booking rooms at the Redcar for the weekend. We were fully aware that this was the cheapest end of the hotel market in Bath. The hotel itself needs updating but there was nothing untoward on arrival. The room was dark and dingy but it was clean. The bathroom was servicable and other than a very damp ceiling and only one temperature for the shower, there was nothing that couldn't be explained away by the cost.

On returning to our room we attempted to put the side light on which didn't work. We tried multiple plugs and switches but nothing worked. At the same time, we attempted to put the TV on. There were two controllers of which only one seemed to do anything. When it did, we just had a black screen. We tried everything we could think of but nothing worked.

Neither of these were big problems in themselves however, upon check out the next morning I felt it was sensible to provide some feedback and let the gentleman behind the desk know, ahead of the next guests arriving. Having waited for him to finish having a cigarette in the front porch, I explained about the television to be met with a response of "well you must have been doing it wrong, you obviously don't understand how to use it". Shocked at his curt reply, I explained in detail what we tried which was met with a barrage of blame on us. Seeing that he was not willing to accept there was a problem, I moved onto the side light to which he responded, "well it is obviously the bulb isn't it?".

I was trying to be helpful to save the next guest having similar problems but all that I was met with was blame and accusation. The only advice I was given was that I should have come and got the night porter who would have sorted it. There was no regard for the customer, or for the fact that this was supposed to be helpful feedback. The attidtude of this individual was appauling and (despite being able to get over the shoddy hotel) due to the attitude, disregard and lack of customer care of this member of staff, I will never be staying in or recommending this hotel again. It is thoroughly worth paying the £10+ extra to stay in one of the chain hotels or in fact, any other hotel in the city where customer service is considered a neccessary componant to the hotels success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here with 9 of my friends for my hen do. Yes the decor and furniture seriously needs updating, but if you can get past this the sheets are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and its within a 2 min walk to the city centre! Plus it only worked out at £41 each per night, you will definitly not find a central location at this price; but does depend on how fussy you are!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

If you want top end don't come here, we found it all good yes there were a few mlnor problems but for where you are in Bath this is value for money, we were a bit worried when we seen the feedback but need not of worried

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend on a last minute surprise weekend away for his birthday.
Firstly there are a couple of pros-parking on the road and using a meter is cheaper than the hotel (which is £10) if you can get in the hotel car park (!) and it was in a great location close to the shops and bars :)
Now for the cons (there are a fair few!):
We were put in a twin room even though a double had been booked, this was on the top floor with no lift and no offer of help with the bags. Our room was lit with only two very dim side lamps, the ceiling (technically at roof level) leaked rain into the room all night, the shower was either freezing or scolding, it was filthy and the beds were very uncomfortable. When we returned from our lovely night out in the city there was a huge hornet in the room which we managed to get rid of and another in the room by morning! When we told the hotel receptionist about the roof and other problems he made no apology and said he woukd simply shut the room until they had fixed the leak! Nothing else! Absolutely awful hotel and if it wasn't for our night in Bath being lovely I would never return. This place should be shut down until someone who understands customers can take over and overhaul everything about it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandine88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We went to Bath to go to the last day of racing in 2013. We booked this room cheap, and going with that in mind and low expectations the hotel was even worse than that. It is dingy, the room we were in had fixtures and fittings missing, the old windows rattled when it was windy and the carpet felt sticky to walk on. I also was not impressed by some of the staff who were smoking and chatting loudly right under the window at 7.30am.

Room Tip: ask for a room not with a road view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We only stayed the night but it was just what we needed a clean bed for the night. We arrived early and staff allowed us to use the facilities, which meant we could then go off and enjoy the day. Breakfast was not an issue as there are so many cafes open early within 2 minutes of the hotel. Sometimes people expect a little too much for their money, my bed linen was clean, the room was clean, yes a little tired in places but the economy is hitting everyone. We were more than happy with what we got for our money.

Room Tip: Reccommend the double rooms with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_from_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing