We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty, the doors and wall in the bathroom had lots of dirt, the shower head was extremely dirty, the heavy curtain was dirty. I want to go to Bath again but definitely I won't book this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    49
    130
    137
    458
See reviews for
110
245
66
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My main problem concerns the fact that we have a fairly large hotel in Bath with no car parking facilities - I know they say they have limited spaces available but actually you cannot get a space - if you did then you won the lottery. It would be more honest to say so rather than have a monotonic receptionist with limited knowledge of English giving an apologetic 'no', a response that he has obviously given many time previously, not even a map showing the nearest car park.
This is a hotel for a quick overnight stay, do not expect anything as good as a Premier Inn or Travelodge, as they say, remember this is Bath where everything is old & tired.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOESKY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a shame. Great location with car parking. Friendly receptionist But oh. the hotel is so tired and dirty. Stains on the ceiling over my friends bed. Dirty shower. Bedding that should be thrown out and beds like a board. The worst nights sleep ever. No breakfast facilities - but then again I suppose would you want it. Ill fitting carpets which are surely a health and safety issue. Dear owners please sell this hotel to someone with the money and passion to restore it to its former glory. Dont let this fine building decay any further.

Room Tip: The hotel a few doors down looks really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband booked 4 rooms for a stag do at this hotel and unfortunately ended up not coming to Bath in the end. There was a mix up with the cancellation and resulted in a large no-show fee which the hotel were perfectly entitled to charge. However, we called and explained the situation and the people we spoke to were very very nice and understanding and agreed to waive the fee. Although we didn't stay here I was really impressed with the way we were treated on the phone and can imagine the hotel staff are lovely to deal with. Thanks again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chrissyandrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Receptionist was rude and aggressive when presented with a challenge
Trailing electrical cables across a very wonky floor
rattling floor boards and sash windows
fire doors that push you down the stairs
curtains falling down
dirty bathroom (there was even blood on the loo seat yuk)

I should have taken heed from the customer in front of me who walked out - I agree environmental health the HSE and the local fire brigade should both know about the hazards presented at this hotel

we visited on 8th March 2014 and really wouldn't recommend apart from the location which was a 5 min walk into the town.

Room Tip: don't use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I've just got back from spending a weekend in Bath with my boyfriend and we stayed at Redcar for just one night and to be honest I am so pleased it was only the one night! Everything about this hotel is pretty dire and it is in desperate need of a face lift. The carpet in our room was worn out, the wardrobe doors didn't close properly, all the plugs sockets looked like they could electrocute you, the smoke alarm had been covered in some sort of cling film! The list could go on. The only plus side I guess is the location as it is a 5 minute walk from the city centre, but it is pretty overpriced for what you get. I wish we had spent a little bit more money and got a nicer hotel! Lesson learnt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

we booked this hotel at last minute just a spur of the moment trip. we have stayed in many different hotels and travel lodges. we went to the room to find, thread bare carpets, a disgusting and dirty bathroom, the shower wouldn't turn off, the toilet wouldn't flush and the bed matress was filthy I wouldn't of let my dogs sleep on it SERIOUSLY! it was so dated, musty smelling and in terrible condition. I told the man on reception and he said, what do you expect its cheap haha, he said " its like a corsa compared to a jaguar" you get what you pay for. well we just couldn't sleep there because it was so disgusting.you have to pay £10 for parking aswell and you will NOT get a refund so please don't even book this place. we are a hard working couple a builder and a sales manager not posh or expecting the earth just a clean bed for the night but no chance here. we ended up staying at leigh park best Weston 8 miles down the road. it was the same price and really nice and clean with a working toilet and no chance of disease haha. redcar hotel is like a dirty hostel and also has a reputation with the other hotels for being the worst in bath, I have taken a picture of the matress that I will put on here. honestly read all the bad reviews and expect worse. it was the family room we had on the top floor. I have never wrote a review before but feel I had to share this information. I am also going to report them to environmental health it is that bad!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#26 of 30 in Bath
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing