We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stuck to the YMCA”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Paignton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Should have stuck to the YMCA”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This is without doubt the most run down "hotel" I have ever stayed in. It is entirely my fault as I didn't read the reviews as I thought if I booked through Book.com at least the standard would be half reasonable . It is pointless repeating other peoples bleats, except to say that the bathroom is so small that you cannot use the loo without having the door open! Also in order to fill the kettle one has to repeatedly fill up a small cup with water as the kettle will not fit under the tap, so small is the wash hand basin . The shower is a dribble. I slept ok but that was probably because I had been out to a reunion and to be fair the bedding and towels were fine.
The man on the desk was polite and courteous , and kept apologising that there was no breakfast
A total of £70 including the car park is terrible value. Should have gone to Premier Inn !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    49
    129
    135
    447
See reviews for
106
244
64
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here on the 10th may for one nights stay. The man on reception was very welcoming and helpful, he was happy to tell me about food places near by and even showed me where about they were on a map, he later on rang us a taxi and knocked on our room door when it was here!!!
We stayed in one of the basement rooms, okay so it is a little out dated but had all the basics you need for one nights stay.... Clean towels, sheets, tv, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a phone! The toilet and shower was clean and shower very warm! The room a bit noisy as you could hear people walking above and on the stairs but after all it is an old building!!
Very close to the town and lots of street parking if you cannot get a space in the car park. Only downside is no breakfast facilities but lots of places near by!!
If you just want a nice, clean, cheap bed and room for a couple of nights this place is ideal!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbaker2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed for one night but wouldnt want to stay longer ,the entrance is poorly lit when you first enter the building ,the car park a very tight squeeze and the bedrooms in need of a good overhaul .Very
creaky building so not a good nights sleep . On the plus side the the bedding and towels were clean and fresh and the staff all polite and helpful ,also the location is fantastic and even though we had to vacate the room by 11 oclock they allowed for us to leave our car while we spent most of the day exploring again.

Room Tip: all rooms need a good clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

One of the smallest rooms i've stayed in . The walls are wafer thin and you could hear everyone down the corridor . car park charge was £10 /night , suggest you book the car park and sleep in the car.No breakfast available and the bar was closed .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would not let my pets stay here. It's filthy old and needs to be torn down. Everything about it is horrible, the rooms, the bed, the bathroom, stains, mould. Just simply horrible.

We tried to check out immediately but couldn't find any rooms anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here overnight after watching the rugby. Only redeeming feature of this hotel is its location. Dirty, dated and really not very nice. Bears no resemblance to its website pictures and description. No bar, no kitchen facilities, no on site car parking available and no lift. Not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyjeansandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having arrived at the hotel the reception area was acceptable. We were made to pay for the room on arrival, wish I had asked to see the room first, as I wouldn't have paid!
The whole place is extremely run down. I am not normally fussy but when I walked into our room and the bed was so sunk in the middle it was like a banana, you could feel the springs through the duvet! I would have not wanted to look under the sheets, let alone sleep in this hotel.
We returned to the reception to ask for a refund. We were offered nothing at first, then they thought they would be kinder and offer us half!
We ended up leaving and getting the Bath Waterside Travelodge for the same price Redcar wanted for the night. You couldn't even begin to compare the two hotels and I thought Travelodge's were basic!
Plus their fire alarm system wouldn't work if there was a fire, my husband fits them for a living and it was the first thing he noticed when we checked in!
DO NOT stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing