We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy and dirty”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Bath
1 review
“Very noisy and dirty”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at redcar for one night. We will never stay there again nor will be recommend this hotel to anyone we know.

A terrible odour was evident as we entered the room. After flushing the toilet, it was obvious where the smell came from as the sewage system was not working properly.

Our room faced the street which on a Friday night was very noisy. To make things worse, our door was right next to the entrance way of the second floor. Each time someone entered and exited it made a loud noise. The cherry on top was the absolute lack of insulation from floor to floor. We heard every step of the people staying directly upstairs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The quality of the rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shopgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    49
    130
    137
    458
See reviews for
110
245
66
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Recently stayed at the Redcar hotel Bath, and having read some of the reports on trip advisor we were a little apprehensive about what we’d find. Like any place you can find good and bad things some people only seem to see the bad but hey they like to complain a lot and be heard. As for ourselves we found the Redcar to have very reasonable rates for the area. The location for walking into Bath was excellent only 5mins; there was free parking at rear in small car park considering the high price for parking elsewhere. The staff where excellent really friendly and helpful nothing too much for them to do. We found the breakfast was very tasty and filling and they where only to happy to get you something should it not be available, if you like Chinese food then there restaurant in the evenings is excellent value for money. Yes the décor and rooms are a little dated but never the less very clean and tidy, as I said for the price and location good value for money. We would have no hesitation in going back there.

  • Liked — location, value for money
  • Disliked — decor dated
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

This hotel was fine to crash in for a night or two. Nothing special, but clean enough and in a central location. The staff were polite and the breakfast was nice.

The hotel was significantly cheaper than most of the other ones we looked at and for what we paid we were happy. Don't go here though if you want anything more than 4 walls, a bed and a bathroom - it isn't a hotel to be appreciated, just somewhere to lay your head!

Also the hotel is pretty hot, so it being summer we needed to open the window and there was quite a lot of noise outside in the evening.

Its cost £1 a room to store bags for a day.

Enjoy Bath :)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The stairs (or the fact it had no lift!)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0is1ane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I know it's quite a time since we stayed but I am sure things won't have changed in such a short time! We stayed at the 'Redcar' to be honest because it was the only hotel left that had a triple room in Bath at the time. I booked through a booking website and it stated that the hotel had a carpark, great I thought Bath is a busy place so hopefully no problem parking WRONG the car park was the size of a paddling pool at the back of the hotel with awful access that set us up for the weekend!

I am sorry so say that this has to be the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in in my life all the reviews are true and the photos. The public areas are not as bad as the rooms so you get a false impression when you check in! our room being a triple was on the top floor of a 5 storey building with no lift! the room was exceedingly hot and while we were asleep it decided to rain in the night unbeknown to us the roof leaked all over the pull out bed fortunately we were not using it. When we opened the bed it was actually mouldy so obviously the ceiling had been leaking for some time! when we told the manager this a nice chinese lady she said housekeeping had not told her there was a problem with the room! the decor was old to say the least and I have never before had yellow duck stickers on the bathroom wall and a caramel coloured bathroom suite not nice! the shower curtain was held in place by a blue piece of string, the windows were rotten and the frames very dangerous because of the rot when I open the window it slammed shut again good job my fingers were not in the way!

In the restaurant seemed to have undergone a bit of modernising with new modern lampshades and general decoration but the chairs were still in dirty draylon, and dirty carpet, the food was ok only because and to give them their due! cooked a fresh poached egg for me the rest of the food looked a bit sad!

What a shame the owners do not invest in this lovely building. But Bath is a busy tourist centre and all the time people are paying £100 a night yes to add insult to injury!!! and the hotel is full they will not do anything until they absolutley have to.
So do not stay unless you are desperate!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Enjoyed my stay, although was dreading due to all the bad reviews. had a double bedroom, on the ground floor which was more than satisfactory. clean tidy room, clean bathroom with facilities to make tea and coffee :) staff pleasent and friendly as allowed us to keep my car in the car park before we had checked in and after we had checked out, which we were very greatful for. right in town, you dont even notice you cross the river, a truely surperb location, which is value for money.
fire alarm set off in night by a person staying at hotel, as he was drunk, hotel women was not happy at all and appolagised alot. we did not find this inconvinent just amusing as all the hotel was there in their jarmies XD including me :).
would recomend this hotel
breckfast was tasty, and was self service, yet the staff were friendly, and asked if we wanted toast.
Overall had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_H_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Queensland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Stayed for 1 night in July 08. Terrific location just around the corner from the main street. Walking distance to the railway station. Tiny double room, worn carpet but clean and comfortable. Some reception staff a little disinterested. Breakfast was more than satisfactory. Well priced for the budget traveller. Luggage storage available before and after stay. Would recommend it to a friend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Merlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My Girlfriend booked this hotel for a “cheap” break to Bath as it was one of the few hotels that offered single night bookings.

We paid £85.00 for 1 night B&B, which even allowing for the inflated prices of Bath was exceptional over priced for the “quality” experienced.

We weren’t expecting a lot for £85.00, but the adventure that lay before us was not a tale for those of a nervous disposition!!

The good points

· Nice easy walk to Bath and all the attractions

· Friendly reception staff

· Friendly waiting staff at breakfast


The bad points

· Dampest room I have every stayed in

· Smallest room I have ever stayed in

· Room with the dirtiest carpet I have ever stayed in

· Most genrally stained room I have every stayed in

· The presence of an offensively dirty net curtain type thing hung over the bed in some vein attempt to pointlessly imitate a valance of some description.

· Room with the most rotten, useless windows I have ever stayed in

· Bathroom with the dirtiest looking shower I have ever seen (if the owners of the hotel read this please Google the word “legionella” )

· Bath towel with last users Lipstick still present

· Cooked breakfast was diabolical, soggy bacon, and sausages of indeterminable origin!


As you may of gathered by now I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone whatsoever.

The hotel is in dire need of extensive remodelling (preferable by mean’s of Semtex) and I truly hope someone has the foresight to invest in what could be a great hotel with a good location.

  • Liked — Check out
  • Disliked — dont get me started!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing