We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Redcar Hotel is very close to Bath but not worth it, the rooms are disgusting, there were cobwebs everywhere, the room smelled, the bathroom was so awful we didn't even shower. Do not stay here! I wish I'd read these reviews before I booked.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_BeeLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

We booked a deluxe room at this hotel as my birthday treat. The location for this hotel is excellent you are in the centre of Bath within a few mintues walking (about 10 mins from train station). The communal areas of the hotel contain the period features you would expect from a hotel of this era and are clean and tidy. The dining room is clean and bright and set in a oriential theme. The breakfast is a buffet style and there is plenty of choice from hot and cold. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was very dissapointing, it is located right next door to the ladies toilet. The room was incredibly dated with thread bear carpet, the netting that covered the four poster bed contained enough dust to send us into a coughing fit. The bed felt as though it would break at any moment and you could feel the springs through the matress. There were no drawers or shelves in the wardrobe to put anything in so we laid our underwear and t shirts on the mantel piece. The small portable TV was on a table that you could not see if you were laid in bed nor was the reception very good. The bathroom was also dissapointing and in urgent need of updating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I was quite worried before arriving at this hotel, due to reading so many bad reviews.
I spent a long weekend at the Redcar hotel for my hen weekend. I booked 7 double rooms for all of us. All the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
There was one room that was not up to our standards, and the staff allowed us to choose another room straight away which was acceptable.
The only downside to some of the rooms was that they were quite hot as their is no air conditioning, but some have fans on the ceiling which helped.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay.
Breakfast was a lovely selection of fruit, cereals, toast and a fry up.
5 minute walk to the main town.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire6079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Redcar for three nights while touring around Bath and the surrounding area. It's in a pretty good location--a doable 10-minute walk from the train station, and about five minutes to the main tourist area and some great restaurants.

The biggest downside of the hotel is its plumbing; the whole place basically needs a total overhaul. In our first room, water only drizzled out of the shower when it was turned to a setting warm enough to actually use. We complained and were moved to another room the next day. That room had a perfectly functioning shower. However, the toilets in both rooms--as well as those off the lobby--were ridiculously difficult to flush.

I found the breakfast to be pretty standard, as far as these types of places go. There's also reasonably priced Internet at a computer in the bar, and the staff was very helpful when it wasn't functioning for me.

On one night, some noisy guests in the hallway kept us up in the middle of the night, but that's not really the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Wanting to stay near the centre of Bath was a must and the main reason for choosing this hotel as a last minute booking. Staff were lovely and very friendly however the rooms were very substantial and unclean for the star rating of this hotel. The main bedroom area was OK but small things ruined the nice features. The bath room was dirty in that the tiles were stained and the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned well for months. No hairdryer in one of the rooms and the other one needed fiddling with to get to work,

If you want a hotel close to the cebtre and can put up with this down points then go for it - but would look else where myself if revisiting.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

As the title says, its all about location at the Redcar Hotel.
Superb for Bath town centre, and all the local attractions, but over priced, and somewhat run down.

Was particularly impressed with the sloping floor in the room, the lack of hot water at night, (however it re-appeared again by morning). The array of fruit at breakfast was truly the finest array of tinned awful looking fruit that I've seen in a long time.

If you just want a place to lay your head close to Bath centre then this is it. (if your not too fussy!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWORRUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Before heading to England on holiday I had read some of the not-so-great reviews of this hotel. I tried to go into it with an open mind. I was pleasantly surprised by the lobby and thought, "this isn't so bad." Then we were told we were on the top floor and, no, there is no lift. We were on a 3 week holiday, so had large suitcases. We had to down-size our luggage in the lobby as there was no way we could have carried it up three flights of stairs (62 steps....I counted them). The lovely, tiny front desk clerk offered to help, but honestly, I think my suitcase weighed more than she did! After getting up to our room, I was appalled. It was awful. Nasty stains on the ceiling and what was left of the carpets. Bathroom was like something you'd find in someone's home, complete w/little yellow ducky tiles on the walls (and the duckies were the good part!). Bathroom appeared clean, but had dusty corners. Linens were in bad shape. Ceilings low. Very hot, being basically in the attic. Argh! Reading other reviews, I would say it's a hit or miss at this hotel depending on the room your are assigned. We got a clunker. Bed was noisy and hard. Breakfast was good and the employees are all very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonneinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing