We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location .....but........”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Location .....but........”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is in a great location close to city centre and sights. The room we had was basic and could do with some tender loving care. Hot water was boiling hot (take care with showers). The hotel needs lots of money spending on it to bring it up to any where near two star standard. For convenience stay there but spend most of your time out and about in Bath!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    50
    130
    143
    474
See reviews for
118
250
69
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

when we opened the door to our room we thought it was a joke. tiny room, walls were brown from smoking guests, shower room dirty, carpet stained, dodgy smell, creeky floor, hairs on sheets... the walls are so thin you can hear what the people are saying or doing in the next room. there is a garage just behind the hotel, very noisy , hammering, drilling, phone ringing from early in the morning all day through. the only 2 good things were the friendly staff and the walking distance to town centre. i wish ive read the hotel reviews here before i booked the hotel. NOT WORTH THE PRICE !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niccca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Torquay
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

For the first time ever, we really should have listened to the reviews!!
This isn't a nice hotel (if you can call it that), it was more like a hostel & was completely run by Polish workers!
The rooms were shabby & the decor was just awful, our room was painted a deep purple which made it feel like a cross between a goth's bedroom & a crack den!!
There were cobwebs everywhere & original features had been completely trashed, which I thought was terrible given that this was an historic building!
The location was great though but I do thank the lord that we were only staying the one night!!!
Stay ANYWHERE else!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbs7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights as there was no other availability close to centre of Bath. First room allocated was on the 3rd floor, like a box room, too small for a double and one very small window. The ceiling in bathroom was very low, my partner who is taller than average, could not stand up in the shower cubicle. Changed rooms to 2nd floor, shower in bath either scalding or cold - couldn't be regulated or fixed by maintenance. The bathroom was grubby - dirty grouting, marks on the floor - horrible. The wardrobe was a cupboard with blankets and pillows on the floor, the bed was lumpy and creaky. Not what you expect in this day and age. We complained and were offered a discount which we accepted. The public areas appear well maintained, but rooms and staircases are 'tired' to say the least - threadbare carpets, in need of painting, generally tatty. Continental breakfast was included in our rate. The quality and content was vey poor - plastic cheese and ham, cereals, coffee. We were advised that the hotel no longer provided breakfast, but this had not been updated on booking websites, so it had to be provided. Whoever owns this hotel obviously doesn't care about quality or customer satisfaction. We were told that the hotel is always full - probably because it is a last resort booking for any one who wants to stay close to the centre of Bath as the location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgruntled44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

What a dump! wish i had read the reviews. Run down and in serious need of redocoration. No breakfast even though i had an email saying that a continential breakfast was included. Bed was a wreck bedding looked clean. Should have known to turn around as asked for money when checked in. Location fantastic but wish someone would take it over and run it as a hotel not a doss house.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RochdaleShazbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

No Parking, Dated Hotel, Dirty Room, Breakfast not worth bothering with.
Only Plus close to town centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Extremely shabby and run down. Obnoxious reception staff, rude and unco-operative. Full payment demanded on arrival despite nothing on website to this effect. Refused to give me an immediate refund they mistakenly overcharged me for the room and told me I would have to wait 2 to 3 days to get my money back. My booking explicitly included full English breakfast but this was not available and they refused to refund any money for this. Car park a nightmare, almost impossible to park in there. Faulty tap remained unrepaired despite my bringing it to their attention. Paying customers are left in no doubt that they are just a nuisance at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia490056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing