We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise is horrendous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Bath Central
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noise is horrendous!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Location of the hotel is very good as you are within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.
However, unless you're actually going to go to the nightclub downstairs until it shuts then do not stay here.
There is a nightclub directly underneath the hotel, and because we stayed on the first floor, you could hear every word of every song and the floor vibrated under our feet. Friends stayed in a room 2 doors down from us and their radiator rattled and vibrated with the bass from the music.
To then top it off someone who was drunk in the club smashed the fire alarm, and everyone was evacuated from the building at 3am. We were all stood outside in our pjs!
When we got back to our room we could hear smashing bottles where the empty beer bottles were being stored underneath our window in bags and were being thrown on the floor by the night club staff.
So although their website says to expect some noise and that there is a nightclub underneath, do not under estimate how loud that is going to be!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gizmomay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    206
    160
    87
    114
See reviews for
137
295
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First thing: location of this Travelodge was very good. Walking distance (5 mins or so) to most major attractions, shops and many restaurants.

The building looked really old and dull from the outside, but inside is clean and nice looking. Reception area is quite small, and there are a few chairs to sit in (4 if I'm not mistaken) for waiting although you most likely won't need it since check-in was very quick. There's a lift if you have lots of luggage you don't want to lug up the stairs.

Room was basic. I think they are in the process of upgrading their hotels, since the mattress felt new and firm, and the room as a whole looked fresh. Comfortable. The nightclub thing is true, there are people shouting and yelling at night, but with the telly on it's fine, and it didn't wake me up or stop me from falling asleep.

Staff were super nice and helpful! Had a problem with the heating, and it was taken care of while I went out for dinner, so I returned to a nice warm room. When I asked to confirm directions to a restaurant (I had looked it up before hand on-line, but I just wanted to make sure), she even printed me out a map to take along. Had a package delivered to the hotel, and I was able to get it with no fuss. Excellent!

I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others for an affordable stay with good value for your money.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the upper floors, facing away from the main road so that you don't hear the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quadhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Central position handy for the shops and ancient Bath.

Reception staff directed me to a car park 0.2 miles away which was relatively uinexpensive (£8.50 for a day and a half) and which did not need me to constantly feed a meter.

Room was LARGE, clean and comfortable. Despite being on a road the double glazing was very effective at keeping out noise until the dutman arrived at 0630!

A good choice for central Bath but be aware there is a disco next door and rooms on the main road maybe noisy....

Room Tip: Avoid ground florr on the front as you may get noise from the disco at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel was clean, Lights in my room were a bit dodgy and took ages to actually turn on but the worst was the nightclub directly underneath the hotel from which I could hear noise and shouting until 3am in the morning. (on a wednesday night)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sandra781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was warned by a mate, who pulled a face whilst explaining, that this was indeed cheap but very noisy hotel, being centrally located. I had no such complaints. I thought it was great for the money. Hardly any internal noise to the hotel and that's rare for a budget hotel. We were on the third floor and only got a bit of noise from the street. It was Friday night too. Great location, good value. Great view from room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Positive - Rooms are spacious, clean and fresh bed linen, good location for exploring Bath, reception staff polite.
Negative - Noise Noise Noise!!! its situated on the main road into and out of Bath so the traffic is constant, the night club goes on & on until the birds come up and once the revellers have gone the road sweepers and bin men come out.....wouldn't say value for money it wasn't cheap for a Travelodge and definitely not a hotel to stay at if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieKen6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed here on easter saturday and despite Bath being very busy my allocated room was extremely quite. Very handy for everything and easy walking distance of central Bath, and the rugby ground which was my main reason for visit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank BirminghamRugbyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Central

Property: Travelodge Bath Central
Address: 1 York Buildings | Broad Street - George Street, Bath BA1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bath Central 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bath Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Central Hotel Bath
Bath Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Bath
Bath Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing