We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean cheap hotel. Nightclub underneath so if you can ask for room away from this...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Bath Central
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and clean cheap hotel. Nightclub underneath so if you can ask for room away from this...”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We used this hotel as a base for a hen weekend in Bath. Very clean room and comfy bed. We had room near nightclub which is at weekends going until 3am but that didn't bother us. Bin men on Saturdays empty the glass bottles at 07.00 hrs and as a listed building difficult to have double glazed windows to reduce noise but they did have secondary glazing but didn't block noise. So early wake up !!
However, no hair dryer in the room and you had to ask from reception, so make sure you take one..
Staff very helpful

Room Tip: Check when you book where rooms are located if you don't want to hear "base boom" from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    213
    165
    88
    119
See reviews for
142
302
38
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An excellent location right in the centre of Bath and only the shortest of walks to all of the main sights. The hotel premises are in an old building and so expect some stiff doors and creaky floors. We had three rooms and all of them were clean and well decorated. We did have a number of lights which would not work (really expect the housekeeping staff to check these things).
The only problem is car parking. The nearest one limits you to 4 hours although it is free overnight - so you could time your arrival and departure to suit.
But otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boss1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Arrived early for a 2 night stay and was able to check in early, and was even offered 2 different types of rooms to choose from. Room was small (but we were informed of that), but fine- clean, comfortable and with the most wonderful view of the Abbey and Bath.

The location too was brilliant, just a short walk from all attractions.

All in all would definitely return and recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emredskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have to admit that we were looking for someplace with more character than a Travelodge but were pleasantly surprised.

We were arriving rather late in the day in to Bath on a holiday and without a reservation. We tried several B&Bs but found them all full. Fortunately we had our GPS and were able to locate a Travelodge nearby. We were lucky enough to snag one of the two remaining double rooms.

As it turned out the location was great - just a 15 minute walk to the Abbey and the Baths. Located in the old Royal York building, the rooms were very pleasant. Modern but very basic. If I have a complaint it would be that the bed was not that great. That said it was everything we needed and the staff was great. The hotel does not have a parking lot but there is one on a side street that you can use for the night. Parking after 18:00 is free but you must pay after 8:00.

The experience turned out so well that we stayed at Travelodge locations the next two nights. We stopped in and took the rack rate but reserving ahead will save you a bit of cash.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel worked perfectly for my family's needs. We didn't have a vehicle while visiting Bath so it was important for us to find a place that was close to the important venues we wanted to see in the city. Additionally, we also needed a place within walking distance from the train station. This hotel definitely fit the bill on both counts.

The hotel was a 15-minute walk from Bath Spa Rail station and since we arrived before 3:00 PM, I had already anticipated having to pay extra for early check-in so we can leave our bags in the hotel (based on a previous review). The friendly, young gentleman who welcomed us said that our room was not ready but gave me the option to check into a different room early and paying the extra 10 GBP or just leave our bags in a back room and check in later when we return from our tour. Needless to say we were grateful for the latter offer and took him up on it. It was a very nice gesture on this staff member's part and much appreciated from our end.

When we returned in the evening, a different staff member was around and she checked us in without a problem, unlocked the door that led to our stored luggage and we went up to our room on the second floor towards the back of the building. It was basic but clean and spacious for our party of three. From our window we could see a side street below us but had a very nice view of Bath. No problem with nightclub noise (as mentioned in other reviews) - in fact, we didn't hear any. I assume this had to do with the location of our room. Overall I was very pleased with the size and cleanliness of our accommodation. Bed though a bit more firm than I like was still comfortable.

With the short amount of time we spent there, being able to walk around and take in the sights and have quick, easy access to restaurants from the hotel were very convenient. Its central location in Bath as well as its very reasonable price are definitely this hotel's biggest draws for travelers on a budget and for those who just want to take advantage of its proximity to Bath's best tourist attractions.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem, ask for a room in the upper levels and towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfnshopntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for an overnight stopover. If you're after a no frills hotel in a central location then this is it. It is located only a few minutes walk from the Roman Baths and Abbey so it's in a great spot. Comfy bed and decent sized room.

If you know you're going to be stopping by try book online prior to arriving (we just walked in and asked for a room), even if it's 2 minutes before you walk in the door. We paid £66 for one night but had we booked online it would have been £59. Plan your parking too, the hotel doesn't have it's own car park, there is one located behind them charging about £5 for every 4 hours between 8am to 8pm and had we not been staying just for one night it would have been very expensive.

My last piece of advice would be to ask for a higher floor, we were on the first floor and I was woken at least half a dozen times by noisy passers by leaving local bars, I even heard every word of a drunken fight at one point. My husband slept through the whole thing though so if you're a heavy sleeper never mind!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

An interesting hotel - well located and with pleasant rooms, but unfortunately located above a nightclub. We were able to have a room facing a side road but basically this is a hotel in a busy and attractive part of Bath, and it was noisy outside until the early hours of the morning. The hotel itself was quiet, and the staff were helpful. We drove to the hotel and parked in a long-stay car park just around the corner (8pm - 8am free). The hotel is within comfortable walking distance of restaurants and many historic public buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the building or closer to the ground floor (which are nearer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Central

Property: Travelodge Bath Central
Address: 1 York Buildings | Broad Street - George Street, Bath BA1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bath Central 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bath Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Central Hotel Bath
Bath Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Bath
Bath Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing