We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Henrietta House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Henrietta House
Ranked #12 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

1 night stay in this delightful establishment. From start to finish faultless... Wonderfully warm reception from all the staff. Wonderful breakfast, superbly clean.... A gem.

Will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallsFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
There are newer reviews for Henrietta House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed in a large double room and were impressed with the size and quality of the apartment. High ceilings, plenty of room to move around, bathroom with a large bath, delightful tea making facilities and excellent breakfasts. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Good location. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the large double if you want a little extra space. Small double is a nice cozy apartment but...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 04c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

No question 5/5. Have stayed in a number of Bath establishments, including the excellent Paradise House. In many ways that was also 5/5 and in most other circumstances I would judge it so. However, Henrietta House excels in its friendliness and general sense of relaxed comfort. It is simply but classically decorated, yet has a grand Georgian Bath townhouse feel to it, without being pretentious in the slightest. Breakfast was delightful and plentiful, with hot choices of all kinds and with the chef's own granola and home made preserves and a good selection of pastries. Also, a hunk unsliced loaf to hack off a chunk for toast or whatever was a nice touch.
The Hotel is situated just off Pulteney Bridge, making it ideally placed to access all areas of this charming city, yet not close enough to be troubled by noisy night-time activities outside.
My only criticism is sachets of bog-standard Nescafe coffee in the room. I like a decent coffee, even if it's an instant, so we had to go out and buy a superior type, but as I say, it's very handy for the shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had a great time. It is a typical classy Bath house in Georgian style. We had a large room on the first floor; worth paying the extra.

The breakfasts were really good, with interesting items on the menu. There is a "juice of the day" that is definitely worth trying even if it doesn't sound as though it isn't- carrot and apple one day, carrot and celery the next; both very good. Courgette cake for breakfast doesn't sound right, but it was!

Parking on the street can be tricky finding a spot close by not always possible. The wardrobe in our room had minimal hanging space but there were lots of drawers, so space itself was not an issue.

Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful- we will definitely return.

Room Tip: First floor or higher better probably
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semi_retired_academi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here as a couple overnight. A quirky, traditional town house with a sense of olde worlde charm this one!! We were warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms promptly. Parking was nearby and £5 for the night. Throughout our stay, the staff were friendly and attentive. The room (number 15) was very comfortable with en suite bathroom. Watch out for the heated towel rail as it is piping hot though!! The only slight criticism I have is that the shutters did not close completely so the light comes in with the sunrise. The location is superb- only 5 minutes by foot and you are in the centre of Bath. The breakfast was nice with a selection of juices, tea and coffee, homemade granola and preserves, croissants, pains au chocolat, ginger cake, yoghurts, fruit salad, toast, artisan breads and a selection of hot dishes (we had the kippers with scrambled eggs and omelette with smoked salmon and sour cream/ chives but there is also a full English, Austrian special with bacon, scrambled eggs, onions and pumpkin oil, buttermilk pancakes, cheese omelette, boiled egg with ham-wrapped soldiers and porridge to choose from as I recall). I debated as to whether Henrietta House is worthy of 4/5 or 5/5 and only awarded the former as I have stayed in an establishment in Bath which I feel was a slightly better overall experience which I awarded 5/5. We had a really lovely stay though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Not a B&B but a taste of paradise. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming, efficient and keen to assist. Decor plain and simple and just right for a good restful ethos. Excellent breakfast with a brilliant menu of cooked food. We were constantly asked if we wanted more from the menu even after a full English breakfast .... the pancakes were brilliant. No need for elevenses after a breakfast at Henrietta's.
The hotel has been open for just a year and let's hope the staff can maintain their enthusiasm for looking after the guests; best service I have had in many years.
Well done Henrietta!

Room Tip: Their is a lift so as high up as you can to get a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellebore_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This lovely hotel has a perfect position in Bath, it is just a short walk to all the main attractions. In addition it is full of character with nicely furnished, spotlessly clean rooms. We booked a large room which was lovely and absolutely enormous. The breakfast was the nicest we have eaten in any hotel. An array of cereals, fresh fruit, pastries and a full menu of delicious cooked alternatives to choose from in addition to the full English breakfast which was absolute perfection. Lovely strong coffee and a special smoothie of the day made from pears and carrots.

The staff are all wonderful, thank you for making our 25th wedding anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettirosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henrietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henrietta House

Address: 33 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £104 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Henrietta House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henrietta House in Bath is a large, Grade 1 listed, luxury Georgian townhouse located in a quiet central area. It was completely renovated in 2011 to provide boutique Bed and Breakfast / Guest House accommodation. Privately owned, Henrietta House aims to provide customers with an excellent personal service. Please contact us if you have any specific requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Henrietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henrietta House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing