We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable B&B with Friendly Staff”
Review of Henrietta House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henrietta House
Ranked #13 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adorable B&B with Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon to England. We were very happy with our stay. Our room was a good size (we had a small double - Room 2 on the ground floor), it had a private bath and the bed was comfortable. We did not have a great view - when I opened our shutters I saw a huge pile of trash in their backyard area - but we closed the shutters anyway since with them open anyone could see into our ground floor room. The shower/tub was a little weird. It didn't have a curtain or a full glass partition. The glass partition only enclosed in the tub just passed where you'd stand underneath the shower head, so water sprayed out onto the floor a little. A hot breakfast was included and was decent but nothing too special. My husband had the English breakfast and I had pancakes. Also their was only one server and he was a tad strange. He seemed to be very overwhelmed, got several orders wrong (he didn't write anything down) and he asked me if I wanted coffee or tea multiple times and couldn't seem to fathom why I didn't want a hot drink (I just wanted juice). The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. One woman showed us on the map a few places to visit and tour and another later recommended a few local restaurants to us. The hotel is in a great location and just a 10 minute walk to the high street over a bridge. We had a car but we walked the entire time - to dinner, to the Roman Baths, to the Royal Crescent. You can purchase a parking pass for £5 a day that allows you to park relatively close to the B&B (in front was already full, so we parked about a 5-minutes walk up the street). We hope to return to Bath someday and we'd definitely stay at Henrietta House again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    176
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
242
555
75
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was blown away by Henrietta House. This place made our weekend special. We'd just booked what we thought was a nice, simple B&B close to the centre - definitely didn't expect to be wow-ed by the staff at every turn. They just couldn't do enough to be more welcoming, helpful, friendly and enthusiastic about making our stay special. Every person we met there went above and beyond, and were characters we'll remember! The rooms may not be extravagantly luxurious - they're simple, but well-kept, extremely comfortable and very clean, and full of thoughtful treats like cookies and apples every day. Wifi works a treat, it's a couple of minutes of a pretty walk right to the centre, parking available along the road outside and you can get a permit from the hotel for the weekend. It's the people that make this place five star. And the breakfast.... I'd go back just for that!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The B and B was in an excelent location, and Bath's main attractions were just a short walk away. The staff was extremelly nice and accomodating. The wifi worked perfectly, and the hotel had small nice gestures like leaving apples and cookies every day in our room. Breakfast was excelent, the besta one of whole trip! Lots of choice, home made cake, and jams.

The bedroom had nice antique furniture, the only drawback was the size, it was really very small... Apart from that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catasalaverry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were disappointed with the room at Henrietta House. We booked and paid some months in advance (which I hope would offer some precedence) and were allocated a room in the basement (Rm 2) which didn't live up to the expectation as suggested by other reviews. The room was small and not particularly special. We had been travelling for a month and overall staying at similar establishments and I expected according to the reviews and the hotel's advertising that Henrietta House would be the best of our choices over the month. Taking into consideration the expense of Bath and the markets of the other places we stayed Henrietta House was expensive for what it offered. Nevertheless we can't fault the position of Henrietta House in terms of sightseeing around the city and the service was excellent. The staff went out of their way to provide a late check out and assist us with all that we needed. We would consider staying at Henrietta House again, but I would like to know the room allocation beforehand.

Room Tip: Check which room you are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BL_Cx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Lovely hotel within easy walking distance of Bath city centre. Room was well-furnished, clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed. Friendly staff and you have to try the homemade granola for breakfast! Awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This could not have been nicer. The breakfasts are wonderful with homemade jams and marmalade, and freshly-made juices. There is a vast choice of hot dishes and every kind of other deliciact including home-made butter. The staff are kind and helpful. The location is very central, but in a quiet and graceful street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madog29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in the top room with our 2 teenagers and it was well worth the walk up the stairs. Having just got off a plane from Australia it was a treat to have our our own lounge room to relax. From our warm welcome to our delicious breakfast Henrietta House is a place I would love to come back to again. Ideal situation for walking to all the tourist attractions in Bath and very peaceful.

Room Tip: The "suite" at the top is well worth the climb for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonirxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henrietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henrietta House

Property: Henrietta House
Address: 33 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Henrietta House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henrietta House in Bath is a large, Grade 1 listed, luxury Georgian townhouse located in a quiet central area. It was completely renovated in 2011 to provide boutique Bed and Breakfast / Guest House accommodation. Privately owned, Henrietta House aims to provide customers with an excellent personal service. Please contact us if you have any specific requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Henrietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henrietta House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing