We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boathouse
Ranked #89 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We'd spotted this lovely pub on a previous visit to see friends in the area and popped in for a drink and lunch in the sun. Set in a lovely spot on the edge of the city, overlooking a river and surround countryside.

When revisiting the city it came to mind partly because of the convenience of being situated next the the park and ride. (Bath is not a pleasant city to drive around and thats coming from someone who lives near London!)

We had asked for a double room and if available overlooking the river - we were not disappointed with any aspect of our stay. We felt it offered good value for money, especially as it included a tasty breakfast. Not only did we get a lovely room but it also came with a balcony and delightful views. Tastefully decorated and furnished we were very comfortable during our stay. The staff were always friendly and helpful - we would certainly stay again and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river for a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jannetter58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    126
    52
    37
    38
See reviews for
75
200
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went to the Boat House for my sisters birthday, we had booked a table but as this was in the Conservatory we decided to eat outside as it was a warm evening. The young waitress was very attentive and extremely pleasant, out food arrived quickly and we all enjoyed it, I have the Feta, Strawberry & Mint salad which was lovely followed by the Popcorn Ice cream. It was a little expensive but we had a lovely evening in a nice setting with good service and good food. We intend to go back their when it is our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orgar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just come back from a couple of days at the Boathouse an it is a very relaxing place. Situated a few miles outside Bath but right next door to a park and ride it is perfect as it is pretty impossible to park in Bath. The food is of a very high quality without being expensive and the room had a great view of the river. The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Rodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went to the boathouse after booking a table on a hot summer's evening. We were given a table in the greenhouse - we tolerated the heat for five mins before moving ourselves. It was unbearable. Went to sit near the bar. Understandably noisy, but closer to some fresh air.

We ordered a sharing plate for five of us. After a significant wait, one board arrived, but only two pieces of bread. A platter clearly aimed at two.Puzzled, we requested more bread. Two more pieces arrived. So two members of the party ended up sharing one piece of bread. In quick succession, whilst we were still eating starter, our main course arrived. Even if we hadn't delayed by requesting further bread, we still wouldn't have finished. When the main course came back, it had clearly been kept heated. My 'fresh summer veg' was cooked to limp sogginess, and the salmon crunchy and hard on the top from a grill. We requested a dessert menu. When we were still waiting for a waiter to come back 15 minutes later, we gave up, paid and left. A nice looking place, but doesn't cope with a crowd on a Friday night. Not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelde81, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi There,

I have just read your review for The Boathouse and I am very sorry that you experienced the venue at this level. I have just started as General Manager at The Boathouse in June and I'm looking at reviews such as yours to make sure that your experience does not repeat here. Have you got a private email you could get in touch with me? I'd love to discuss your review to understand it completely, and also hope to get you back down to The Boathouse to experience the venue under my management.

Kind Regards,

Michael
General Manager
The Boathouse
boathouse@sabrain.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Went to the boathouse on Thursday August 1st sat outside by the river as it was a lovely evening had a lovely time as it was my granddaughter 2nd birthday and also her mums the staff were very friendly but do not order a chicken ceaser salad if you are a bit hungry I had one there was about six bits of chicken and a bowl of lettuce leaves but I must say the fish and chips looked very nice

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our five year anniversary. We asked for a balcony room and were given Room 4 which was the biggest balcony. The room itself was clean, light and roomy and excellently presented. The restaurant served delicious locally produced food and we could not fault the service. Staff were warm and welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. I would recomment anyone to stay here. Its location is perfect (particularly on a sunny day) right by the river and is next door to the park and ride in to Bath which runs every 15 minutes. An absolute gem of a place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janeyb689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was an excellent hotel with restaurant to stay for those special occasions with easy access into Bath town centre via the park and ride which is right outside the hotel. Room 4 has fantastic views overlooking the river, with balcony for watching the world go by after a busy sightseeing day in Bath. The restaurant is good but needs a bit more choice on the menu, the breakfasts are very good. Would recommended to friends and family for a great weekend break!

Room Tip: Room 4 has balcony overlooking the river with excellent facilities and en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 6 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#50 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#21 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing