We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, good food in good surroundings”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boathouse
Ranked #75 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went here for the first time on boxing day for lunch and was most impressed with the location, the very friendly staff and the good value, good quality food in a very warm welcoming environment, a good time was had by one and all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBroomfield2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

You simply cannot get a better place to stay in Bath.
Sincere, gorgeously decorated rooms with all the comforts you need. Firm beds but doesn't detract at all from the experience. A truly cosy restaurant and bar with a great menu and breakfast was complimentary and delicious.
Simply a must stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the boathouse this week visiting the Christmas markets in bath city center and is easy to say that this hotel made our trip very special. We tend to try a new city every year for Christmas markets, and generally stay in the city premier inns and travel lodges etc however this year decided to stay in the same price bracket hotel 5 mins away from the centre. Conveniently placed directly outside is the park and ride in to the city at a small cost. The hotel itself was lovely and cosy inside. A huge bed, Apple TV, chocolate eclairs in a bowl, tea/coffee AND hot choc fasciities, bottled water, hair dryer and bathroom supplies including shampoo AND conditioner (I never am lucky enough to get conditioner aswell when I stay in a hotel!!) so very impressed. There is only 9 rooms which are all individual. Breakfast in the morning was made to order. My partner had a lovely full English breakfast and they couldn't do any thing more for us. They even let us check out late as we were running late. Recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit the beautiful bath which is charming in itself too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Justine0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel was excellent we stayed in room number 5 and you could not fault it we had a massive balcony with enough seating on it for a small party of about 6 people, the view from the balcony was amazing looking over the river Avon. The park &ride is right on the door step so its so easy to get on the bus into bath and much cheaper it only cost £3.20 return pp. the restraunte/bar was lovely and cosy but the menu wouldn't be very good if you are fussy what you eat , breakfast was nice in the conservatory with again lovely views over the river. The staff were very helpful. Everything was clean in the hotel, and if you stay in the summer months the scenery would be even better. The only thing that let it down was the hot water was only warm in the shower/bath could have been hotter.

Room Tip: pick room 5 its so lovely overlooking the river with a huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petedeb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Cosy fireside wood burner, lovely atmosphere as you walk in, staff very helpful and friendly, food excellent, rooms comfy.
Park & Ride just next door and excellent value into Bath City Centre. Lovely little retreat for a weekend away. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparrow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay ,feels cosy when u walk in, room nice Apple TV ,chocolate eclair sweets everything about the place just great,beautiful view over river, park and ride next door so 10 min bus to bath

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A beautiful building, handily placed next to park and ride, though difficult to park in hotel car park leading up to Christmas. Location is lovely as we enjoyed a large room with balcony and sat and watched the rowers on the river. The bed was large and comfortable and the shower great even though I usually choose a bath. Not quite enough storage space for toiletries, etc. in bathroom and sink very low in Room 1 - probably for wheelchair access, though on first floor?
The bars are full of character with good choice of wines and some cocktails. The food was good pub food although the breakfast not so good: ours came after others who arrived later and so we had cold tea and coffee by then. The cooked option was also cold. Not much choice at the buffet while we were waiting either and orange juice not topped up enough. The waitress at nighttime and morning sessions was the same lady and very friendly, but otherwise quite a cold reception.
All in all a smashing place to stay for a weekend but would rather stay in Bath itself for a longer stay in spite of lack of parking further in.

Room Tip: must have a balcony for full experience of location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debfisherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.0 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 155 in Bath
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £86 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing