We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by another restaurant...”
Review of The Mint Room

The Mint Room
Ranked #30 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Mint Room, is a multi award-winning fine dining Indian restaurant located in the beautiful, historic city of Bath...
Stamford
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Let down by another restaurant...”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

....and thank goodness we were as it meant we could visit the Mint Room!

Presentation, options and delicacy of values was superb. Nice stylish restaurant even if it's in a not too nice road.

We were very pleased with our meal, my scallops were cooked to perfection and the dessert of poached pear and coconut ice cream was superb.

Helpful none intrusive staff, a very pleasant meal and definitely a restaurant to recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    208
    94
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very delicious and inventive”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely selection of dishes that aren't just the typical indian foods you'd expect. The veggie options were really nice. The aubergine steak was in a really nice surrounding sauce, lemon rice was fragrant. The pudding that was like a carrot cake was AMAZING!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Modern room, modern food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This upmarket Indian serves classic and more unusual dishes with great flair.
Food is stylishly presented, clearly freshly cooked and straight from the tandoor, though a little under-spiced for my taste.
The room is modern and chic and the service crisp and attentive.
Prices are reasonable too, less than £60 for two including drinks.
Immediately opposite the Holiday Inn Express.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Anniversary lunch”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We were taken here by our daughter and son in law to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary.
We love Indian food but this was even better than the curry Restaurant' s we often use.
The presentation of the food was fantastic. The service was very attentive without being imposing.
I would definitely eat here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday dinner but slightly spoilt by drunkards!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked a big table for my family to celebrate my 37th birthday. We were all looking forward to it but I was dismayed when we arrived to see a HUGE group of very drunk and loud men (at 6pm!) all around the entrance and blocking the doorway. It looked like staff were having a word with them beforehand but they were very boisterous and some were very disrespectful (standing on chairs and climbing over them onto our chairs, one was sneezing all over a member of staff - it really had to be seen to be believed! ). If it were my restaurant I would have turned them away or thrown them out so not to spoil everyone elses meal. The staff were very apologetic and told us to complain if they were annoying us but to be honest the looks on our faces said enough!

Halfway through our meal the drunk men left and it was only then I realised how bad they'd been. We could finally all hear ourselves talk and could converse with one another! I really don't know why those men had to pick a nice place like The Mint Room for their stag do dinner - it was very inappropriate for them to be acting like that in there.

Anyhow - as usual the food was fantastic. My swordfish starter was gorgeous, the Chicken sag delightful and the cauliflower bhaji was good too. I had a carrot cake for dessert (which was very unusual but lovely) and I also got a free birthday dessert (chocolate mousse with cinammon in it) - the staff were lovely and professional - if it hadn't have been for the noisy men this would be a 5 star review!

Unfortunately I will now make a point of not going to the Mint Room on a Friday or Saturday night as I don't want my nice dinner ruined by drunken stag dos. I will however visit again in the week as the food is fabulous and the service excellent!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Ramjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mint Room also viewed

 

Been to The Mint Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing