We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Number 17 Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 17 Bath
Ranked #57 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having just returned home from a 2 night stay at Number 17 in bath, we left very disappointed at the accommodation. There are great reviews for the place here on trip advisor but I'm afraid that whilst the room itself was lovely, the stay was let down by some small but important things. Firstly, the en suite bathroom was quite possibly the smallest I've ever seen. It was built as a box in the corner of the room and was incredibly tiny. I'm not a big guy at 5 10 and 80kg but even I couldnt move in there without banging into something. Tiny sink, impossible to shave in, tiny shower and rusty towel hangers and toilet brush too. We also thought we'd chosen a stag and hen free zone however, on returning back to the room at 11pm one evening we were met with a drunken party of girls playing music way too loud and heading out. Yes, the noise returned when they staggered back at 3am in the morning.
Not worth the money and a real shame as the main room was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marky_Mark1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    42
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
94
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Recently stayed here for two nights and actually wish it could have been longer.

Brilliant location with off street parking (free). So close to city centre that we just forgot about the car and walked everywhere.

Every touristy bit of Bath (The roman baths, shops, the Crescent etc) is so close that we abandoned the car and just walked everywhere and enjoyed the beautiful city.

No17 is part of an old georgian house with a real boutique feel to the rooms, we were met b y one of the team and given a very full run down of the room, facilities and the surrounding area.

The room was great with lovely four poster comfy bed, ensuite shower room, kitchenette, wireless networking, hd tv, sky hd and a dvd player. If it hadn't been for the lure of Bath itself we would have been happy to stay in the room itself for two days !

We shopped in the local Waitrose and enjoyed one 'home' cooked meal and one meal out during our stay.

Would recommend number 17 over any 'Hotel' stay as it managed to combine a luxury room size and standard with the convenience of self catering. All for an affordable price.

We ate at Sotto Sotto on the second night (review to follow) and went on the 'Bizarre Bath' comedy walk, both of which we would highly recommend.

Highlight of the trip though was Number 17 itself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have just arrived home after spending two nights in number 17 in Bath. The property is gorgeous and the decor is superb, modern with period features, lovely. Even though the appartments are self catered, provided were two croissants, some mini boxes of kellogs cereal, a jar of nescafe coffee and a pint of milk,which were all complimentary, we didn't have to buy anything in for breakfast, saved us money on buying things you may only use once or twice during your stay. The bed was extremely comfy. The ensuite shower room was also great, the shower had a good power behind it and consistant hot temperature. The only thing that I could fault was that the hot water tap rarely stayed hot but more at a luke warm temperature, which was a bit rubbish for washing your face, washing up, etc.The radiators also didn't go very warm, but we never asked the management to see if we could get it warmer so no complaint really. The management are really friendly and provided in the rooms is sky television, and a places to eat guide in the guest information pack. We stayed in the blue moon studio which was on the first floor at the rear of the property. We had a fantastic view of Bath Abbey and it also meant that it was quieter as the hotel is situated on quite a busy road, which I would imagine would be quite noisy if you were to have a room at the front of the property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the property as stated previously due to the road. Also fantastic v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesome-o-1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at tha garden apartment which was big, comfortable and clean. It felt luxurious. I have no negative comments, the location was exellent, beds lovely, shower and tub working nicely. We had two small kids with us, and they certainly enjoyed the stay. There was even dvds and games for kids, so we adults could relax completely!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here last weekend Jan 7/8th, a really pleasant place to stay, very welcoming, comfortable, and most of all, relaxed and quite special.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevecentlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is just a lovely place for a short stay in Bath and is within easy walking distance of the town centre, with free parking,

Despite only booking a double room, we were allocated Daisy's garden apartment, which takes up the whole of the lower ground floor. The apartment was immaculately clean and stylishly decorated. Would definitely stay again, highly recommended.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This place is a true Gem ! We cannot fault a thing - immaculately clean, luxurious room, wonderfully comfortable bed and we will certainly stay there again. You will have no problems at all if you book into this lovely place. Tiny shower room and loo, but again spotless, water piping hot, soft towels, and everything you could need for a comfy stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#49 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#29 of 157 in Bath
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 157 in Bath
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 17 Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 17 Bath

Property: Number 17 Bath
Address: 17 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 17 Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 17 offers boutique self-catering apartments on a night by night basis, for individuals, couples, families and groups. Our cosy accommodation comprises six king studio apartments and a two-bedroom garden apartment sleeping up to four people. Situated in the centre of Bath and built in 1873, Number 17 is set in its own beautiful gardens offering fine views of Bath Abbey and the city. We have brought together the best of modern and traditional, to place comfort and hospitality at the heart of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Number 17 Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing