We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and overpriced. Needs some love and care”
Review of Number 17 Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 17 Bath
Ranked #58 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the Atrium apartment and while the main space with the bed in is a lovely space, we couldn't help but feel ripped off for the price paid for the room. We were shown around the apartment (which is actually more of a bedsit) when we arrived to be told nonchalantly by the owner to "watch out for the woodlice as they fall through the ceiling" in the conservatory. sorry, what? I'm paying for a luxury apartment and you have a woodlice infestation you haven't bothered to fix. Every day we were there there were, sure enough, plenty of woodlice in the conservatory area every morning. Lovely.

The bathroom was tiny. You couldn't use the loo without pretty much having your knees in the sink, and the water pressure in the shower was very poor. We told the owner this who offered to replace the shower head as it was caked in limescale (which they seemed to somehow have not noticed before) but this never happened. The plates and oven tray in the kitchen had not been cleaned at all and were full of crumbs. You only get given one plate and bowl in the room per person, so expect to do a lot of washing up. The microwave was also broken and had not been checked - many small issues which should have been noticed but sadly were not.

Such a shame as the apartment is in a lovely building and is very well located and the owners were very pleasant, but it really is not worth the money being charged for it. Needs some attention.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Super apartment - clean and comfortable and well equipped. Great location and welcoming host. Definitely recommend to families or a group of friends. Quite expensive but i think no more so than most places.

Room Tip: We were in the basement which was nice as we had access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daftlupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently to visit the christmas market. Room was everything we needed for our stay although there was no toaster or grill pan to do the toast.
All in all a nice place. The location is very central and the free parking was good. It was a little noisy as we were on the road side and the road was very busy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONESPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Clean, roomy, well located and a friendly host. We arrived very late, but this was dealt with very helpfully by Arthur. We had a fantastic view of the City Centre, a comfy bed and plenty of space. I would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamLilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for a night after doing some shopping in Bath. We're met by the friendly owner. Who gave some good advice about our visit to Bath. The room was big, with nice fixtures and fittings, lovely sheets on the bed. The room had a kitchen which was handy and a washing machine? I guess they must have people stay longer term. The only thing to be aware of is the bathroom is small, was freezing cold and had an electric shower (which like all of them dribbles water and is hard to get the temperature right). Much better value and nicer to stay in than a soulless chain hotel.. As for other advice, the signage is not that clear, parking can get tight, if you like it to be quiet ask for a room at the rear, as next to main road. Also close enough to city centre, but a little bit of a strut to walk in. I also booked through late rooms and the room was £85 but was charged £95 for some reason.. I would visit again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived and originally booked the atrium but I wanted a pretty view so arthur kindly changed our room to the gorgeous four poster room was very clean the bathroom was small but ideal for two of you travelling, we where
left to ourselves which was lovely and felt like it was ours for the night no noise and just perfect and ten mins walk to town stunning house highly recommended! Thank you for a gorgeous stay! X

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were met by the friendly owner and parked our car just outside for free. The house had a classic style that you would expect in Bath. Our room had all we needed, a nice double bed with lovely clean sheets and pillows. At the end of the bed was a comfy two setter sofa and a flat screen tv providing sky and a DVD box. There were numerous DVDs available to watch. In the cupboard was a hair dryer, an iron and ironing board. There was also a small kitchen providing all our needs. The bathroom was of good size and immaculate !
The centre of Bath was around five to ten minutes away depending on how fast you walk. The area seemed very safe.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend Number 17

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom_the_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,009 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 159 in Bath
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 17 Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 17 Bath

Address: 17 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £78 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 17 Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 17 offers boutique self-catering apartments on a night by night basis, for individuals, couples, families and groups. Our cosy accommodation comprises six king studio apartments and a two-bedroom garden apartment sleeping up to four people. Situated in the centre of Bath and built in 1873, Number 17 is set in its own beautiful gardens offering fine views of Bath Abbey and the city. We have brought together the best of modern and traditional, to place comfort and hospitality at the heart of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Number 17 Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing