We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper British Pub Grub!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamb and Lion

The Lamb and Lion
Ranked #303 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Proper British Pub Grub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

When we visited it was summer, so we sat in the garden situated at the back of the pub. We both had food, and also had a pile of chicken wings, and what I thought was a nice touch, when they had gone cold a waiter asked if he could warm them up for us!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank soopysoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    55
    35
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pop in for a beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Found this place by chance whilst walking through Bath. Decided to go in for a beer/cider. Packed because of a football match was being shown. Drinks nice but not cheap and neither was the food. Best deal was 2 for 1 desserts and so took advantage of that. Bit off putting having some foul mouthed bloke within earshot when you are having a conversation but that's not the place's fault.

Helpful?
Thank MattSGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was really bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I know it's cheap but I would rfrain from eating here. The pub garden is a nice place to have a drink but if you order food please expect stuff that has been taken out of the freezer and dinged in the microwave! Eurgh

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport,Gwent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good City Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had lunch here with my wife on Sunday 04/05/2014.
This pub is located near to Bath bus station and just off a main shopping street.
It was fairly busy when we arrived and there was a 20 minute wait for food which turned out to be at least 30.
However, the pub had a couple of large TVs showing different sports which was good.
The tables were clean and there was a good lively atmosphere amongst the customers.
I had a Classic Burger which came with a pint and my wife had a Thai Coconut chicken Curry.
The food was hot and very good.
I had Track Reward Bitter by Prescott Ales of Cheltenham which was excellent.
This is a great pub and well worth a visit.
Far better than shopping!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDoctor1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stopped here for a late lunch after arriving in Bath on Easter Sunday, the pub was busy as it was showing the football but that was fine, We managed to get a table 3.30pm ish and ordered some lunch, my partner had gone to order and was gone for around 15 mins service was very slow to say the least, they could've done with more staff! but nonetheless the food was lovely and warm, and the chocolate chip pizza for dessert was fabulous, definitely one to try!

One slight negative was a group on a table behind me let there child run amok all the time we were there, as a mother myself I can tolerate a mischievous child but he was going under tables and climbing on high chairs and jumping off which is dangerous, the staff should've spoken to the guests and asked politely for them to keep an eye on their child, my nerves were in shreds when we left!
Spoilt a quiet meal and drink

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PheonixWelshGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamb and Lion also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to The Lamb and Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing