We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, relaxed atmosphere & great views”

The Bridge Coffee Shop
Ranked #23 of 42 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
672 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 879 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, relaxed atmosphere & great views”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Located on Pulteney Bridge.

Pros:
-Helpful and friendly staff
-Cream afternoon tea (2 scones, 1 tea or coffee) good value at £4.25
-Magazines and a newspaper to read
-Free WiFi - ask staff for password
-Views of riverside walk, River Avon and weir on one side and the road/shops on the other side.

Cons:
-Individual cakes expensive
-No toilet (the adjoining sister cafe has an upstairs unisex toilet)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    73
    34
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yummy cream tea”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This cafe overlooks the weir from the Bridge in Bath. The cream tea is good value with 2 warm, homemade scones, strawberry jam and clotted cream, plus a pot of tea and milk. All for under £5!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint, sweet and oh-so-charming.”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My mother and I needed to escape the cold while visiting Bath in September 2010, and stopped at The Bridge Coffee Shop, which is in fact right on Pultney Bridge. I recall ordering one thing, but they were all out of the ingredients, so I ordered something like scones or toast. My mother ordered treacle tart which came with clotted cream, and it was SO divine I would go back just for the tart. Overall, it was reasonable service, great food, a lovely view and a very cozy place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and a beautiful view”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We'd eaten pastries and cakes from here a few times before, but today we felt like sitting somewhere warm to escape from the cold December chill. We'd always figured that there would be a wonderful view from Pultney Bridge, over the weir, but it was much nicer than we'd imagined.
The warm coffee, the amazing cakes and the excellent view made for a wonderful experience. This has to be one of the best views from a cafe in Bath - and the food is excellent too - I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to The Bridge Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing