We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grat cofee”

Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee
Ranked #1 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
London
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Grat cofee”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great coffee. And great service makes Starbucks look obsolete in comparison to the way they make and taste the cofee here. A good place for a stopover

Helpful?
Thank TareksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    78
    26
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Coffee for coffee geeks”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very happy to have been recommended this place and to have popped in. Colonna and Small's is a place for coffee geeks, making it lovinginly, and with a very enthusiastic barista that talked to us. There is a good range of interesting coffees, and they take the time to explain the various processes should you be so inclined.

I was particularly impressed that certain coffee on the chalk board were only served blac. Nice touch.

I tried something different - coffee brewed using the cold brew process. A rare treat that I have yet to see elsewhere. The carrot cake was good and moist too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Withdrawals, and the cure”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a barista full time, so I was glad to find this place on a recent trip to Bath so that I could make my headache from NOT having coffee go away, and not have to settle for a bad coffee to do so. They serve really nicely made filter coffee as pour over, Aeropress or siphon. Go and see them for your fix!

Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we visited this coffee shop in late April after reading some Tripadvisor reviews. The proprietors certainly know their coffee and demonstrated their enthusiasm for their trade as soon as we entered. They source beans from small farms and we ordered a Flat White and a taller Latte using one of the sweeter beans on offer that day. The coffees were incredibly smooth and creamy and we enjoyed our drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomin_papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Coffee”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Colonna and Smalls is an institution. The (multiple award winning!) baristas are total coffee boffins but super friendly and helpful. Needless to say, the coffee is incredible - both espressos and the filters. Whether you want to geek out on coffee or just sip a damn fine cup o' joe, you won't find a finer specialty coffee place in the UK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing