We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wine bar/ coffee shop/ deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chandos Deli

Chandos Deli
Ranked #102 of 568 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine bar/ coffee shop/ deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Came to Bath for a one night stay, and we were 'rained' into calling in her for lunch on our first day. Wine is available by the glass, and we were late for lunch so had limited options. We had sandwiches, crisps and coffees: the bread and fillings were lovely and we had such a pleasant experience we came back the next day for pre-departure lunch, and also sampled a baguette, and shared a slice of cake. Very pleasant atmosphere - would recommend and deliberately come again. Wine available by the glass was also appealing, but alas, I needed to drive! Coming from London represented decent VFM.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    52
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ham and cheese tostie delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husbands office, complete with top of the range coffee machine is 30 seconds away but I still go to Chandos for coffee. Not only do they serve fantastic coffee but the best brownies EVER and fantastic toasted cheese and ham sanwiches

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I just wanted a light bite and somewhere to rest my weary feet and my husband said he knew just the place so we walked into the Chandos Deli.

My eyes immediately took in the counter with filled baguettes full of delicious looking food...

There was no-one behind the counter but an assistant was talking about wines to a customer in the 'shop' section. It wasn't clear whether we were meant to wait or find our own table. I then noticed that many of tables needed clearing and those that had been cleared had not been wiped over. Not great. We looked around for a clear clean table and settled for one that just needed some crumbs wiping up. We were kept waiting with no acknowledgment from the staff who walked past us. My husband suggested that he would find out about what was on offer. He disappeared around the corner.
After some time it was all a bit awkward sitting there on my own so I thought I should go to the counter and saw my other half waiting to ask the staff for a menu or waiting to order some food. I saw there was now a long queue coming in from the front door. The assistant from earlier was talking to one of his colleagues and both completely ignoring the queue that was forming in front of them. We tried to attract their attention with an 'excuse me' but there was no response.
We then decided to leave......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Midgetjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stop off for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We had spent the morning sightseeing and wanted a bite to eat for lunch. We stumbled across this fantastic deli offering a wide range of sandwiches and other treats. We opted for the delicious baguettes mine with falafel and my husband had goats cheese. Worth a visit for a quick pit stop

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carleymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Seriously homely. Friendlly staff, hidden gems on the shelves, and too much temptation on display on the counter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bandolamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chandos Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chandos Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing