We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Local”

The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #278 of 570 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Devonshire Arms is a traditional pub serving good quality pub food sourced from local suppliers. We have a fantastic lounge bar which can be reserved for that special function including parties weddings business meetings and wakes. Our public bar has a wide range of activities including pool table and skittle alley. We have an outside eating and drinking area and also host many events including live music, quiz nights special b-b-q's etc. if you would like to know more please contact us and talk to Nicky or Mike
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Friendly Local”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Devonshire Arms is a friendly proper pub with separate lounge and public bars frequented by all types of people, both locals and visitors. It hosts music nights, quizzes and caters for local sport teams. It has meal deals on various nights including the popular two steaks and a bottle of wine for £25. A full menu is available with starters at £4 and mains at £7 to £13. Several real ales and a good selection of lagers and ciders is on offer. The lounge bar is avaialble for hire. Make sure you visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pylesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Long wait”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had Sunday lunch. There were only two items on the menu but we were kept waiting for 45 minutes. When the food did arrive the quality was very average. We would not eat there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place to have a drink and a bite to eat.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The devonshire arms is a warm and welcoming place to go. The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.The food is excellent plus the real ales are very tasty. I would highly recommend popping in for a pint and something to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a proper local pub where everbody knows your name”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We live locally and went to the other pub which does food - that was a mistake, we should have gone to the Dev as usual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I ate here with my girlfriend, and we both ordered the Sirloin steak - one rare, one medium-rare. Both of us were really impressed with our meals, prefectly cooked, and really juicy and full of flavour. We were really impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eastchinnockcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky m, Manager at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and comments we hope to see you again very soon
Regards
Nicky and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing