We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to have this restaurant on the doorstep!”
Review of Menu Gordon Jones

Menu Gordon Jones
Ranked #2 of 569 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$71
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Menu Gordon Jones is all about amazing food, with an element of surprise. All Chef's menus are seasonal, locally sourced and offer real value for money. To really tickle your taste buds try our dishes, all served by our friendly staff in a funky setting.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lucky to have this restaurant on the doorstep!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband dropped in when walking past after lunch and managed to get a cancellation for the same evening, so a lovely surprise because we thought we would have to book weeks in advance.
Staff were welcoming and friendly. Because there is no menu and our waiter was very softly spoken we weren't always sure what we were eating, but no matter. It was all delicious, even if one or two of the dishes were a little over spiced for my taste. The rabbit main course was absolutely perfect, however. As each dish was exquisitly presented it almost seemed wrong to eat it, but, hey, that's what we were there for!
An interesting experience and one we will surely repeat as it is so close to home.
As others have mentioned the value is amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    52
    28
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
173 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Love this place soooo much”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When I was a kid we used to pass the building that now houses this little restaurant so many times on our way into Bath. Almost 30 years later it's lovely that the Bear Flat now has such a great restaurant.

The very unusual aspect of this place is that there is no choice about what you get to eat. Obviously not a problem for the vast majority and definitely not for me. As I was with an old friend I've forgotten the details of what we had to eat but a few things do stick in my memory - lovely and unusual bread that was part of an intricate first course; beetroot bloody Mary; salmon and popcorn; gizzards, which were far tastier than they sounded; sweetcorn sorbet which was fantastic and the standout single item.

I loved each of the seven courses we were served. Each was beautifully presented; some were fun; each was unusual and none were weird; all demonstrated great skill from the chefs; most importantly all tasted great.

And of course what makes this place so outstanding is that all that wonderful food is going to cost just £50, which makes it superb value.

Have been lucky to eat in some great restaurants and this place genuinely served one of the best meals I've ever eaten.

Booking way ahead is essential and I can't wait to return. It made me think living back in Bath would be a great idea...but then I remembered the dreadful traffic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We decided to revisit MGJ as our first taste was so good, we booked the week in advance for lunch on a Saturday and were again bowled over by the use of ingredients and flavours. This is an experience you should try if you enjoy being adventurous with your food, excellent value for such a high quality meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Who needs a menu?”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

No menu, but who needs it when amazing food is served? Have visited here twice and both meals were a wonderful mixture of exquisite tastes. On both occasions we have tried something new eg taster size belly of veal in a light batter or sweetcorn sorbet. There are 7 courses to the meal and just the correct portion size so that you end the meal feeling pleasantly replete, not bloated. The sommelier recommendations were unexpected, but absolutely right! Indeed, this restaurant has got it absolutely right and as we left the second time we booked ahead for our third visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isa3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
339 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ate here back in May but I forgot to review it so specifics on what we ate are a bit hazy but I remember excellent food, there is no choice so all may not be what you would normally eat but go with it you won't be disappointed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menu Gordon Jones also viewed

 

Been to Menu Gordon Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing