We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gastronome's restaurant”
Review of Hon Fusion

Hon Fusion
Ranked #197 of 575 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gastronome's restaurant”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

How can Hon Fusion be way down at 54th? It deserves to be in the top 10 Bath restaurants.

There is good wine (try the Malbec). There are mouth watering starters - try vegetable spring rolls or spare ribs. And the choice of mains is huge yet, whatever you choose, it is fresh and beautifully prepared and presented. I like the Hon Fusion Crispy Noodles - a veritable feast of seafood, meats and vegetables is a terrific sauce served on crispy vermicelli noodles. And don't leave without trying the toffee banana. One portion of this magical dessert is enough for two of you.

Oh, and prepare to be surrounded by Chinese people. It's the restaurant where the Chinese eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RIchard_of_Binegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    12
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice and a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Came across this restaurant as staying nearby and due to bad weather we wanted to stay local. Had seen good reviews so had a look, do not be fooled by appearances, although it resembles an upmarket cafe, the food is great! It was full of ethnic locals and we could see why. Starters were low point, as generic pancake roll, rib etc mains fab, authentic , meaty ,not your standard offerings, with scallops and squid in spec rice, yum ! Slow cook beef curry ,delicious. Duck dish had lots of meat. Overall experience ,brilliant ,why pay a fortune for fancy decor? Clean and friendly restaurant .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Normal789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yet Another Great Meal”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My wife and I are local to Bath and have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions since it opened. We've never yet had a bad meal, and in fact this visit was one of our best. The food was lovely and the staff very attentive and quick to serve. In the past we've brought our Korean friends to eat here and they too praised its quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CnMBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab Food - loved it!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The menu is packed with the usual & the unusual with something to suit everyone. The crispy duck was lovely and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the clay pot beef curry. It's not a 'posh' place decor wise (simple & functional) but the food is top notch and the staff are very attentive and friendly, helping you choose from the large menu. I would recommend anyone to eat here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the wide world
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic spicy interesting Chinese food”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is the best Chinese restaurant I've been to, either in Europe or the USA. It was founded by three chefs, at least one from Hong Kong. It is supported by the large number of Chinese students and tourists who come to Bath. In case you find it full, they have started another restaurant really in Bath (the other side of the river / train station) called Hoi Fan. Both have the same menu. I love the spicy aubergine with minced pork, and the Japanese Tofu dishes (with and without seafood), the ant noodle dish. They do good dim sum at midday too. Note: if you want, you can get totally boring conventional British Chinese food here too! If you want something interesting, go off the chef's recommendations at the front of the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j2bryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hon Fusion also viewed

 

Been to Hon Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing