We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 575 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We walked in for lunch and got a table easily. Service was excellent and so was the food. Try the Bruschetta Venezia - delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Perthites-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,674
    496
    122
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Italian with a real heart”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Visited this establishment with my wife early June, during lunchtime. We did not have a table reservation, but the restaurant staff still found a way to squeeze us in. Service was excellent and the lasagna we ate was one of the best we have ever eaten. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KasurinenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow what a fantastic evening!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Walking through the doors we new it was going to be a good experience, we were greeted by a team of enthusiastic waiters who could not do enough for us. On our table was a lovely greeting note for us on our 30th wedding anniversaries as we were2 couples.
There was a great selection on the menu and we well informed by our waitress Carola, a delightful young Italian . The atmosphere was noisy in the underground cellar area but 'good noisy'.
When dessert arrived the plates were decorated with congratulations.
In all one of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had

Thank you Stto Sotto

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andycole3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing, best italian food!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were looking for somewhere nice to eat for dinner and came across Sotto Sotto. I'm so glad we went there, the moment we walked through the door we were greeted by friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. The venue is absolutely amazing, such a beautiful atmosphere. We mentioned that we were on our honeymoon and we received a congratulatory note well wishes from all the staff. The food was the best food I've had in a long time, it's fresh good quality proper italian food. I've never been to Italy but I imagine this is what it would be like. Will definitely be recommending this to everyone,10 out of 10, loved it!!! Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GdayfromDownUnder61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fabulous staff, service and food!! Can you please open in Belfast?!!!

Thanks guys...the happy birthday singing was the best yet!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing