We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired in places but spotlessly clean and in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #37 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our welcome and registration at the Edgar was quick, polite and efficient rather than warm and welcoming. We were however extremely grateful that our heaviest bag was carried up the 5 flights of stairs without us asking for help. Our room was on the small side but, as we never spend much time there, was large enough. We were concerned that as the room faced the main road and being just off the city centre there would be a lot of night time traffic noise. We were wrong! There was very little noise at night and sleeping with a window slightly open was no problem at all. The breakfast menu had a variety of cereals, fruit and yoghurts along with plenty of toast and the usual full English. A choice of teas and decaff coffee also available. The domestic staff were all very friendly and helpful but one or two sometimes seemed to srtuggle with strong accents. As shown in my title the whole house was spotlessly clean and our room was serviced every day with a change of bed linen on the third night. Parking is a different matter. Parking permits are readily available from reception but parking spaces are not ! We spotted a car driving out of the side street near the guest house and were lucky enough to grab the spot before anyone else got there. I could not see another space anywhere so the car stayed put for the duration we were there. Not a problem for us as we prefer to use public transport when away from home. The big plus point is that the house is within 5 minutes walk of all that Bath has to offer. For a 3 star establishment I feel the price is a little on the high side but this is Bath and Bath does carry a premium. My rating is perhaps a liitle harsh. A "good" rating would be more fair but I do not consider the Edgar to warrant a "very good", hence average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for The Edgar Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were a bit apprehensive upon arrival as the decor in the hotel is tired and worn and could do with some refurbishment. We stayed in a quiet room facing the back, with view of local houses. The space was a bit tight and we had a bit of trouble storing and accessing our luggage. The main problem with our stay was the heat in our room: the sun came out, the temperature in Bath reached 26-27 celsius each day during our visit, and the room felt like an oven upon our return each night. The fan and open window at night helped us to sleep but during the following day the room heated up again. When arriving back, tired after a day of exploring, this was a difficult for us. On the positive side, this hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, major attractions, and great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: In hot weather choose a room facing north.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRL622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarbath, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We are happy you our enjoyed our central location on Gt Pulteney Street. We are only minutes walk from all the major attractions. The house was built form 1780-1790 and is as a result has little more character than modern buildings. We were caught out by the length of the heat wave in July following last year’s summer wash out. As a result we have purchased an air conditioning unit for the room. We hope you enjoyed your UK travels and will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed in the large triple bedroom with my friends; the room was nice and big with a lovely view from the window. Friendly staff, good range of choice for breakfast and its located in a great location. The only main issue I would say about it is the smell of fry every morning when I woke up. But other than that, me and my friends had a great stay in Bath :)

Stayed in June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were very pleased with the way this B&B is managed. From the way the manager (owner?) popped out when we rang the bell to the efficient and friendly provision of breakfast to the map of restaurants and advice on what to visit to the storage of our luggage on our last day, it was all very well done. The staff were all extremely helpful and efficient. We particularly appreciated the suggestion to visit the art museum at the end of the street and to try the free walking tour. The breakfast is plentiful and good, especially the local eggs. Coffee might be improved. The location is fantastic. Everything is within easy walking distance, including the train station, and the B&B is on a beautiful street. There are many excellent restaurants in the area as well as groceries for those who need a few carrots or an ice cream bar. We especially enjoyed Yak Yeti Yak--a silly name but excellent food.

Room Tip: We had a room for three on the lowest floor, which is the coolest. We like to sleep with windows ope...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fafnerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The rooms are bright and with high ceilings, as is the case with all 18th century houses, location is pretty enough, staff is nice, the breakfast is good and gives choice, and we had a nice view on a cricket field. Storing the luggage and WiFi internet are free / included. Overall it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank x y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights with my wife in May.

The service was good, and we giot a nice breakfast each day. But they need a better ventilator for the cooking, the whole place smelled of cooking at breakfast time.

Bath is a bit pricey in general, and so was this place as well. The room was a bit dated in general, and especially the bathroom. It did work well though. On avg the place needs an update. And again, very friendly and helpful staff. And the location is very close to the main attractions of the city, just a few minutes walk. And we had a room facing towards the park/green - very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fantastic location and the staff were always very welcoming and friendly,having breakfast included was brilliant too. I had the single room which is small and the bathroom is ridiculously small with a pretty average shower! I would stay here again but would make sure i had a double room and on a lower floor,good value for money though in a very expensive city!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juicylucyex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,851 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £94 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing